Fields of study · Agriculture, Agriculture Operations, and Related Sciences

Animal Sciences

CIP 01.09. 162 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 8,239 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate33108$32,878$20,948 to $42,843
Associate50268$38,658$27,521 to $50,268
Bachelor's1017,082$49,634$36,349 to $66,880
Graduate certificate1137Not reportedNot reported
Master's58531$75,394$54,391 to $104,637
Doctorate40213$95,778$69,457 to $136,718
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Animal Sciences credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 11 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Texas Tech UniversityPublic, 4-year · Lubbock, TX · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate, Certificate
289 awards$55,753 median 4 years out
Iowa State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Ames, IA · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
245 awards$51,644 median 4 years out
Kansas State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Manhattan, KS · Bachelor's, Graduate certificate, Master's, Doctorate, Certificate
214 awards$50,941 median 4 years out
Purdue University-Main CampusPublic, 4-year · West Lafayette, IN · Bachelor's, Doctorate, Master's, Graduate certificate
166 awards$54,089 median 4 years out
University of FloridaPublic, 4-year · Gainesville, FL · Bachelor's, Master's, Certificate, Doctorate · Fully online option reported
162 awards$47,724 median 4 years out
Michigan State UniversityPublic, 4-year · East Lansing, MI · Bachelor's, Certificate, Doctorate, Master's
159 awards$54,751 median 4 years out
Tarleton State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Stephenville, TX · Bachelor's, Master's, Certificate
155 awards$43,185 median 4 years out
Unity Environmental UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · New Gloucester, ME · Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
130 awardsProgram earnings not reported
West Virginia UniversityPublic, 4-year · Morgantown, WV · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
118 awards$52,548 median 4 years out
Auburn UniversityPublic, 4-year · Auburn, AL · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
117 awards$53,117 median 4 years out
South Dakota State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Brookings, SD · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate, Certificate, Graduate certificate
114 awards$53,784 median 4 years out
Clemson UniversityPublic, 4-year · Clemson, SC · Bachelor's, Certificate
113 awards$47,853 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 162 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

87 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 01.09. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Farmers, Ranchers, and Other Agricultural ManagersManagement$89,9006,500
Animal ScientistsLife, physical, and social science$68,9403,100
Agricultural TechniciansLife, physical, and social science$49,63015,130
Agricultural Sciences Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$98,7008,920
Farm and Home Management EducatorsEducational instruction and library$60,2208,220
First-Line Supervisors of Farming, Fishing, and Forestry WorkersFarming, fishing, and forestry$59,32027,960
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.