Fields of study · Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies

Gerontology

CIP 30.11. 175 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 863 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate55209$48,636$38,738 to $65,354
Associate1316$40,252$26,377 to $53,985
Bachelor's34129$54,051$39,369 to $71,812
Graduate certificate88214$61,464$51,896 to $85,422
Master's42266$67,618$48,150 to $89,284
Doctorate1429$86,625Not reported
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Gerontology credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 34 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

University of Southern CaliforniaPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Los Angeles, CA · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate
124 awards$79,668 median 4 years out
Stark State CollegePublic, 2-year · North Canton, OH · Certificate, Associate · Fully online option reported
51 awardsProgram earnings not reported
University of IndianapolisPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Indianapolis, IN · Certificate, Master's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
42 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Portland Community CollegePublic, 2-year · Portland, OR · Certificate, Associate · Fully online option reported
22 awardsProgram earnings not reported
University of GeorgiaPublic, 4-year · Athens, GA · Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
21 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Purdue University-Main CampusPublic, 4-year · West Lafayette, IN · Certificate, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
20 awardsProgram earnings not reported
University of UtahPublic, 4-year · Salt Lake City, UT · Graduate certificate, Master's, Certificate · Fully online option reported
16 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Miami University-OxfordPublic, 4-year · Oxford, OH · Master's, Doctorate, Bachelor's
13 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Georgia State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Atlanta, GA · Master's, Graduate certificate
12 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Western Oregon UniversityPublic, 4-year · Monmouth, OR · Bachelor's, Certificate, Graduate certificate, Master's
12 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Widener UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Chester, PA · Master's, Graduate certificate
11 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Yeshiva UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · New York, NY · Graduate certificate
9 awardsProgram earnings not reported

Showing 24 of 175 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

12 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 30.11. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Medical Scientists, Except EpidemiologistsLife, physical, and social science$103,410172,340
Social Scientists and Related Workers, All OtherLife, physical, and social science$101,11037,100
Health Specialties Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$107,310221,270
Social Work Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$77,57012,610
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.