Fields of study · Agriculture, Agriculture Operations, and Related Sciences

Food Science and Technology

CIP 01.10. 161 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 2,253 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate75313$52,207$40,795 to $76,002
Associate42111$50,271$30,684 to $64,919
Bachelor's741,110$70,873$54,113 to $88,238
Graduate certificate1721Not reportedNot reported
Master's48522$88,332$65,085 to $115,796
Doctorate34176$107,003$84,964 to $131,024
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Food Science and Technology credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 14 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Clemson UniversityPublic, 4-year · Clemson, SC · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
109 awards$63,501 median 4 years out
Kansas State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Manhattan, KS · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate, Certificate, Graduate certificate
85 awards$105,978 median 4 years out
Cornell UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Ithaca, NY · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
74 awards$84,147 median 4 years out
University of KentuckyPublic, 4-year · Lexington, KY · Certificate, Bachelor's
66 awards$69,286 median 4 years out
University of Nebraska-LincolnPublic, 4-year · Lincoln, NE · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
65 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Michigan State UniversityPublic, 4-year · East Lansing, MI · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate, Certificate · Fully online option reported
58 awards$106,264 median 4 years out
University of FloridaPublic, 4-year · Gainesville, FL · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
47 awards$64,078 median 4 years out
University of ArkansasPublic, 4-year · Fayetteville, AR · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate, Certificate
39 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Oregon State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Corvallis, OR · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
38 awards$63,531 median 4 years out
University of GeorgiaPublic, 4-year · Athens, GA · Master's, Doctorate, Bachelor's
35 awardsProgram earnings not reported

Showing 24 of 161 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

33 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 01.10. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Farmers, Ranchers, and Other Agricultural ManagersManagement$89,9006,500
Food Scientists and TechnologistsLife, physical, and social science$88,72013,060
Soil and Plant ScientistsLife, physical, and social science$78,85015,730
Food Science TechniciansLife, physical, and social science$52,13014,600
Agricultural Sciences Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$98,7008,920
First-Line Supervisors of Farming, Fishing, and Forestry WorkersFarming, fishing, and forestry$59,32027,960
Food BatchmakersProduction$42,290174,520
Separating, Filtering, Clarifying, Precipitating, and Still Machine Setters, Operators, and TendersProduction$51,61060,100
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.