Fields of study · Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies

Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness

CIP 31.05. 1,416 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 64,594 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate2722,037$37,647$19,708 to $56,175
Associate3855,727$40,162$25,186 to $56,550
Bachelor's94947,786$54,562$39,049 to $73,020
Graduate certificate83306$56,916$41,212 to $75,206
Master's4148,427$62,033$47,943 to $80,968
Doctorate63311$81,993$66,202 to $104,297
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 162 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

American Public University SystemPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Charles Town, WV · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
683 awards$60,134 median 4 years out
University of IowaPublic, 4-year · Iowa City, IA · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate
552 awards$61,732 median 4 years out
Mt San Antonio CollegePublic, 2-year · Walnut, CA · Associate, Certificate
479 awards$40,993 median 4 years out
University of MemphisPublic, 4-year · Memphis, TN · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
471 awards$50,126 median 4 years out
Texas State UniversityPublic, 4-year · San Marcos, TX · Bachelor's, Master's
451 awards$55,832 median 4 years out
Liberty UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Lynchburg, VA · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
397 awards$51,061 median 4 years out
University of HoustonPublic, 4-year · Houston, TX · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
382 awards$53,483 median 4 years out
College of the CanyonsPublic, 2-year · Santa Clarita, CA · Associate, Certificate
376 awardsProgram earnings not reported
University of FloridaPublic, 4-year · Gainesville, FL · Bachelor's, Master's, Certificate, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
367 awards$60,497 median 4 years out
Tarleton State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Stephenville, TX · Bachelor's, Master's · Fully online option reported
345 awards$52,999 median 4 years out
Concordia University-ChicagoPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · River Forest, IL · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
343 awards$66,304 median 4 years out
Georgia Southern UniversityPublic, 4-year · Statesboro, GA · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
338 awards$55,330 median 4 years out
University of GeorgiaPublic, 4-year · Athens, GA · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
338 awards$67,275 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 1,416 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

802 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 31.05. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Entertainment and Recreation Managers, Except GamblingManagement$79,52037,980
Recreation and Fitness Studies Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$77,27012,630
Athletes and Sports CompetitorsArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$66,71015,070
Coaches and ScoutsArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$47,320248,950
Exercise PhysiologistsHealthcare practitioners and technical$59,4608,560
Athletic TrainersHealthcare practitioners and technical$62,52030,500
Exercise Trainers and Group Fitness InstructorsPersonal care and service$47,160322,930
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.