Fields of study · Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies

Computational Science

CIP 30.30. 103 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 2,358 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate998$90,951$58,775 to $110,706
Associate319Not reportedNot reported
Bachelor's47406$104,864$67,991 to $126,603
Graduate certificate2482Not reportedNot reported
Master's551,682$138,757$100,810 to $193,377
Doctorate1571Not reportedNot reported
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Computational Science credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 15 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Indiana University-BloomingtonPublic, 4-year · Bloomington, IN · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
352 awards$151,397 median 4 years out
Georgetown UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Washington, DC · Master's
141 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Michigan State UniversityPublic, 4-year · East Lansing, MI · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate
120 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Carnegie Mellon UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Pittsburgh, PA · Master's, Graduate certificate
108 awardsProgram earnings not reported
University of Michigan-DearbornPublic, 4-year · Dearborn, MI · Master's, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
88 awardsProgram earnings not reported
University of RochesterPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Rochester, NY · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate
86 awardsProgram earnings not reported
University of Oklahoma-Norman CampusPublic, 4-year · Norman, OK · Master's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate, Certificate · Fully online option reported
66 awards$140,243 median 4 years out
University of GeorgiaPublic, 4-year · Athens, GA · Certificate, Bachelor's, Master's
62 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Vanderbilt UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Nashville, TN · Master's
39 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Chapman UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Orange, CA · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
36 awardsProgram earnings not reported
University of Notre DamePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Notre Dame, IN · Master's · Fully online option reported
25 awardsProgram earnings not reported
University of PennsylvaniaPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Philadelphia, PA · Master's, Graduate certificate
24 awardsProgram earnings not reported

Showing 24 of 103 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

4 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 30.30. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Natural Sciences ManagersManagement$167,220108,690
Computer ProgrammersComputer and mathematical$100,39092,230
Computer Occupations, All OtherComputer and mathematical$116,580435,370
Data ScientistsComputer and mathematical$120,230262,440
Mathematical Science Occupations, All OtherComputer and mathematical$81,4903,720
Computer Science Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$96,98035,480
Postsecondary Teachers, All OtherEducational instruction and library$77,640149,840
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.