Fields of study · Education

Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language

CIP 13.14. 453 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 5,061 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate106988$43,689$26,667 to $55,621
Associate62Not reportedNot reported
Bachelor's89255$42,259$31,762 to $55,969
Graduate certificate2531,050$62,752Not reported
Master's2362,740$65,767$49,386 to $82,810
Doctorate1026$87,512Not reported
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 111 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Western Governors UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Salt Lake City, UT · Master's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
399 awards$72,564 median 4 years out
Grand Canyon UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Phoenix, AZ · Master's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
167 awards$69,839 median 4 years out
New York UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · New York, NY · Master's, Graduate certificate
98 awards$80,567 median 4 years out
Liberty UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Lynchburg, VA · Bachelor's, Certificate, Master's · Fully online option reported
90 awards$46,899 median 4 years out
CUNY Hunter CollegePublic, 4-year · New York, NY · Master's, Graduate certificate
72 awards$84,459 median 4 years out
Oregon State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Corvallis, OR · Graduate certificate
72 awardsProgram earnings not reported
CUNY Queens CollegePublic, 4-year · Queens, NY · Master's, Graduate certificate, Bachelor's
63 awards$87,317 median 4 years out
Touro UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · New York, NY · Master's, Graduate certificate
56 awards$85,537 median 4 years out
Greensboro CollegePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Greensboro, NC · Master's, Graduate certificate
49 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Eastern Washington UniversityPublic, 4-year · Cheney, WA · Bachelor's, Certificate, Graduate certificate, Master's
48 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Lipscomb UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Nashville, TN · Graduate certificate, Master's
46 awards$66,213 median 4 years out
Midland UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Fremont, NE · Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
46 awardsProgram earnings not reported
CUNY City CollegePublic, 4-year · New York, NY · Master's, Graduate certificate
45 awards$85,112 median 4 years out
Goshen CollegePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Goshen, IN · Certificate, Bachelor's
44 awardsProgram earnings not reported
University of ArkansasPublic, 4-year · Fayetteville, AR · Graduate certificate, Master's · Fully online option reported
44 awardsProgram earnings not reported
SUNY BrockportPublic, 4-year · Brockport, NY · Master's, Graduate certificate
43 awardsProgram earnings not reported

Showing 24 of 453 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

63 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 13.14. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Preschool Teachers, Except Special EducationEducational instruction and library$38,140478,780
Kindergarten Teachers, Except Special EducationEducational instruction and library$62,680108,870
Elementary School Teachers, Except Special EducationEducational instruction and library$63,9701,388,390
Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical EducationEducational instruction and library$64,370620,090
Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical EducationEducational instruction and library$72,0401,065,210
Adult Basic Education, Adult Secondary Education, and English as a Second Language InstructorsEducational instruction and library$61,54037,310
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.