Fields of study · Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related Fields

Energy Systems Technologies/Technicians

CIP 15.17. 224 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 1,281 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate156711$55,796$35,323 to $77,905
Associate116309$67,276$47,823 to $90,894
Bachelor's16187$85,557$68,524 to $110,911
Graduate certificate830Not reportedNot reported
Master's644$117,106$80,152 to $192,594
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Energy Systems Technologies/Technicians credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 17 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Excelsior UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Albany, NY · Bachelor's, Associate · Fully online option reported
52 awards$116,151 median 4 years out
Ferris State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Big Rapids, MI · Bachelor's, Certificate
38 awards$88,670 median 4 years out
South Seattle CollegePublic, 4-year · Seattle, WA · Certificate, Bachelor's
34 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Texas Tech UniversityPublic, 4-year · Lubbock, TX · Bachelor's, Certificate · Fully online option reported
30 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Idaho State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Pocatello, ID · Associate, Certificate
22 awardsProgram earnings not reported

Showing 24 of 224 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

9 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 15.17. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Engineering Technologists and Technicians, Except Drafters, All OtherArchitecture and engineering$78,35059,930
Commercial and Industrial DesignersArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$83,91033,490
Solar Photovoltaic InstallersConstruction and extraction$53,14031,350
Electrical and Electronics Repairers, Powerhouse, Substation, and RelayInstallation, maintenance, and repair$103,02020,720
Wind Turbine Service TechniciansInstallation, maintenance, and repair$64,1209,980
Power Plant OperatorsProduction$102,04029,320
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.