Fields of study · Education

Special Education and Teaching

CIP 13.10. 1,019 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 33,039 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate139990$48,019$33,737 to $60,810
Associate941,436$37,614$27,097 to $51,102
Bachelor's5737,661$50,499$41,442 to $60,070
Graduate certificate3373,521$63,623$51,615 to $75,642
Master's64019,182$64,397$52,390 to $79,764
Doctorate75249$90,739$74,026 to $111,024
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Special Education and Teaching credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 245 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Ball State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Muncie, IN · Master's, Graduate certificate, Bachelor's, Certificate, Doctorate · Fully online option reported
1,723 awards$71,550 median 4 years out
Grand Canyon UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Phoenix, AZ · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
1,564 awards$60,336 median 4 years out
Western Governors UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Salt Lake City, UT · Bachelor's, Master's · Fully online option reported
898 awards$52,090 median 4 years out
Touro UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · New York, NY · Master's, Bachelor's
754 awards$80,111 median 4 years out
Lamar UniversityPublic, 4-year · Beaumont, TX · Master's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate · Fully online option reported
492 awards$64,598 median 4 years out
National UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · San Diego, CA · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
352 awards$85,908 median 4 years out
Liberty UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Lynchburg, VA · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate, Certificate · Fully online option reported
351 awards$58,040 median 4 years out
CUNY Hunter CollegePublic, 4-year · New York, NY · Master's, Graduate certificate, Bachelor's
338 awards$88,978 median 4 years out
University of West FloridaPublic, 4-year · Pensacola, FL · Master's, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
322 awards$67,666 median 4 years out
George Mason UniversityPublic, 4-year · Fairfax, VA · Master's, Graduate certificate, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
313 awards$72,192 median 4 years out
University of the CumberlandsPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Williamsburg, KY · Master's, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
304 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Illinois State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Normal, IL · Bachelor's, Graduate certificate, Master's, Doctorate · Fully online option reported
263 awards$52,864 median 4 years out
CUNY Brooklyn CollegePublic, 4-year · Brooklyn, NY · Master's, Graduate certificate, Bachelor's
259 awards$90,918 median 4 years out
CUNY Lehman CollegePublic, 4-year · Bronx, NY · Master's, Graduate certificate
214 awards$84,758 median 4 years out
Niagara UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Niagara University, NY · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
209 awards$50,897 median 4 years out
Towson UniversityPublic, 4-year · Towson, MD · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
207 awards$56,971 median 4 years out
Arkansas Tech UniversityPublic, 4-year · Russellville, AR · Graduate certificate, Master's · Fully online option reported
197 awards$50,255 median 4 years out
Arkansas State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Jonesboro, AR · Graduate certificate, Master's, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
165 awards$53,710 median 4 years out
University of West GeorgiaPublic, 4-year · Carrollton, GA · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
159 awards$74,278 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 1,019 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

475 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 13.10. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Education Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$75,35060,830
Special Education Teachers, PreschoolEducational instruction and library$64,83029,510
Special Education Teachers, Middle SchoolEducational instruction and library$66,81095,200
Special Education Teachers, Secondary SchoolEducational instruction and library$74,260163,930
Special Education Teachers, All OtherEducational instruction and library$76,58033,930
Interpreters and TranslatorsArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$60,17052,060
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.