Fields of study · Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services

General Sales, Merchandising and Related Marketing Operations

CIP 52.18. 349 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 6,033 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate2232,315$52,001$28,786 to $76,706
Associate153853$46,500$33,049 to $65,044
Bachelor's732,272$75,399$51,403 to $102,168
Graduate certificate1587Not reportedNot reported
Master's14504$123,713$90,889 to $159,791
Doctorate12Not reportedNot reported
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded General Sales, Merchandising and Related Marketing Operations credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 64 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

New York UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · New York, NY · Master's, Doctorate
480 awards$120,018 median 4 years out
Weber State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Ogden, UT · Bachelor's, Associate · Fully online option reported
195 awards$82,549 median 4 years out
Umpqua Community CollegePublic, 2-year · Roseburg, OR · Certificate · Fully online option reported
126 awards$74,801 median 4 years out
Kansas State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Manhattan, KS · Certificate, Bachelor's
114 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Santa Monica CollegePublic, 4-year · Santa Monica, CA · Certificate, Associate · Fully online option reported
105 awardsProgram earnings not reported
East Carolina UniversityPublic, 4-year · Greenville, NC · Certificate · Fully online option reported
88 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Lake Land CollegePublic, 2-year · Mattoon, IL · Certificate, Associate
83 awards$44,450 median 4 years out
Washtenaw Community CollegePublic, 2-year · Ann Arbor, MI · Certificate, Associate · Fully online option reported
74 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Iowa State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Ames, IA · Graduate certificate
67 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Ohio University-Main CampusPublic, 4-year · Athens, OH · Certificate, Graduate certificate, Master's · Fully online option reported
61 awardsProgram earnings not reported

Showing 24 of 349 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

43 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 52.18. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Business Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$99,08082,150
First-Line Supervisors of Retail Sales WorkersSales and related$48,5201,121,800
First-Line Supervisors of Non-Retail Sales WorkersSales and related$87,520214,390
Parts SalespersonsSales and related$38,630270,070
Advertising Sales AgentsSales and related$64,82091,700
Travel AgentsSales and related$50,16055,110
Sales Representatives of Services, Except Advertising, Insurance, Financial Services, and TravelSales and related$69,9901,256,010
Sales Representatives, Wholesale and Manufacturing, Technical and Scientific ProductsSales and related$104,920284,800
Sales Representatives, Wholesale and Manufacturing, Except Technical and Scientific ProductsSales and related$72,0801,238,190
Demonstrators and Product PromotersSales and related$39,32064,520
Sales and Related Workers, All OtherSales and related$48,28093,180
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.