Fields of study · Engineering

Industrial Engineering

CIP 14.35. 157 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 8,510 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate11274$99,102$88,652 to $120,434
Associate916Not reportedNot reported
Bachelor's1334,825$98,442$81,158 to $121,691
Graduate certificate28199Not reportedNot reported
Master's942,811$119,184$96,708 to $151,168
Doctorate59385$137,148$109,279 to $186,994
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Industrial Engineering credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 24 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Texas A&M University-College StationPublic, 4-year · College Station, TX · Bachelor's, Master's, Certificate, Doctorate, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
618 awards$95,918 median 4 years out
Clemson UniversityPublic, 4-year · Clemson, SC · Bachelor's, Certificate, Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
397 awards$92,491 median 4 years out
Purdue University-Main CampusPublic, 4-year · West Lafayette, IN · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
366 awards$107,031 median 4 years out
Northeastern UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Boston, MA · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate
187 awards$111,430 median 4 years out
University at BuffaloPublic, 4-year · Buffalo, NY · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate
177 awards$102,080 median 4 years out
University of Central FloridaPublic, 4-year · Orlando, FL · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
161 awards$91,630 median 4 years out
Auburn UniversityPublic, 4-year · Auburn, AL · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate, Certificate · Fully online option reported
152 awards$99,441 median 4 years out
Wichita State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Wichita, KS · Master's, Graduate certificate, Bachelor's, Doctorate
137 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Binghamton UniversityPublic, 4-year · Vestal, NY · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate
132 awards$100,428 median 4 years out
University of HoustonPublic, 4-year · Houston, TX · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate
125 awards$94,814 median 4 years out
Iowa State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Ames, IA · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate
96 awards$92,914 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 157 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

110 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 14.35. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Industrial Production ManagersManagement$126,060246,250
Architectural and Engineering ManagersManagement$171,270220,260
Industrial EngineersArchitecture and engineering$102,440365,740
Engineering Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$109,27040,270
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.