Private nonprofit, 4-year · New York, NY

Columbia University in the City of New York

Online programs reported

In this release8,973 undergraduates · 331 fields of study with reported awards. How to read these numbers

At a glance

The first facts to check

Updated August 23, 2026
Average net price
$21,590Aided students, per year
Completion rate
96%150 percent of normal time
Acceptance rate
4.2%Not a personal chance
Earnings 10 years after entry
$102,491System level, aided students
Campus setting
City: LargeInstitution location
School size
20,000 and aboveUndergraduate enrollment band
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Academic year 2021-22
Scope
Reported for this institution

Average net price for full-time beginning undergraduates who received Title IV federal aid. It is an average for one aid group, not a personal price.

Programs

Fields of study with reported awards

Browse all fields
Social WorkMaster's · CIP 44.07 · Some credentials in this field can be finished fully online
546 awards · $75,980 median 4 years out
LawDoctorate · CIP 22.01 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
523 awards · $308,943 median 4 years out
StatisticsMaster's · CIP 27.05 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
438 awards · $167,848 median 4 years out
Public AdministrationMaster's · CIP 44.04 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
409 awards · $115,874 median 4 years out
Computer ScienceBachelor's · CIP 11.07 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
408 awards · $188,265 median 4 years out
Computer ScienceMaster's · CIP 11.07 · Some credentials in this field can be finished fully online
403 awards
Public HealthMaster's · CIP 51.22 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
350 awards · $98,728 median 4 years out
Operations ResearchMaster's · CIP 14.37 · Some credentials in this field can be finished fully online
326 awards
Show the other 319 fields
MedicineDoctorate · CIP 51.12
142 awards
HistoryBachelor's · CIP 54.01
90 awards
HistoryMaster's · CIP 54.01
61 awards
PhysicsBachelor's · CIP 40.08
25 awards
EconomicsGraduate certificate · CIP 45.06
23 awards
ChemistryGraduate certificate · CIP 40.05
21 awards
MusicDoctorate · CIP 50.09
17 awards
HistoryGraduate certificate · CIP 54.01
16 awards
HistoryDoctorate · CIP 54.01
16 awards
PhysicsGraduate certificate · CIP 40.08
16 awards
PhysicsMaster's · CIP 40.08
15 awards
MusicBachelor's · CIP 50.09
13 awards
StatisticsGraduate certificate · CIP 27.05
13 awards
PhysicsDoctorate · CIP 40.08
12 awards
MusicMaster's · CIP 50.09
10 awards
JournalismGraduate certificate · CIP 09.04
9 awards
SociologyGraduate certificate · CIP 45.11
9 awards
GeneticsGraduate certificate · CIP 26.08
6 awards
PhilosophyGraduate certificate · CIP 38.01
5 awards
DanceBachelor's · CIP 50.03
3 awards
MusicGraduate certificate · CIP 50.09
1 awards
DemographyGraduate certificate · CIP 45.05
0 awards

Awards conferred show what the school actually granted in the award year. A field with few awards can still be a full program, and a field listed here can change. Confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the school.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Cost and aid

Start with net price, not sticker price.

Net price is what aided students paid on average after grants and scholarships. It is one average for one group of students, so your own offer can be higher or lower. This school publishes a net price calculator, linked below.

Open the school's net price calculator →

Estimate a loan payment →

Average net price
$21,590
In-state tuition and fees
$71,845
Out-of-state tuition and fees
$71,845
Published cost of attendance
$89,472
Undergraduates with a Pell Grant
23%
Median federal debt of completers
$21,500

Completion and outcomes

Keep school and program outcomes separate.

Earnings figures cover students who received federal aid and are calculated at the system level, which means campuses that share an OPE ID can report the same number. They describe past students, not a promise about you.

Program-level earnings appear beside individual fields in the programs section.

Completion rate
96%
First-year retention
98%
Earnings 6 years after entry
$88,535
Earnings 10 years after entry
$102,491
Undergraduates with federal loans
14%

Admissions context

Use the numbers without pretending they know the decision.

Acceptance rate
4.2%
Applicants
57,613
Admitted
2,439
SAT middle range
1490 to 1570
ACT middle range
34 to 35

Suggested planning category

Aim HighFrom reported data

  • The overall acceptance rate is 4.2 percent, which supports planning this as a stretch.
  • Overall rates are not program-specific and do not include qualitative factors.

What this school says it considers

Secondary school GPA
Required to be considered for admission
Secondary school rank
Required to be considered for admission
Secondary school record
Required to be considered for admission
Completion of college preparatory program
Required to be considered for admission
Recommendations
Required to be considered for admission
Formal demonstration of competencies
Not required for admission, but considered if submitted
Admission test scores
Not required for admission, but considered if submitted (Test Optional)
English proficiency test
Not required for admission, but considered if submitted (Test Optional)
Other test
Not considered for admission, even if submitted (Test Blind)
Work experience
Not required for admission, but considered if submitted
Personal statement or essay
Required to be considered for admission
Legacy status
Not required for admission, but considered if submitted

Computed as reported admissions divided by reported applicants for the fall admissions cycle. Safe does not mean guaranteed. Admissions decisions depend on factors no public tool can fully predict.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Fall 2023 admissions cycle
Scope
Reported for this institution

Computed as reported admissions divided by reported applicants for the fall admissions cycle.

Institution facts

What kind of school this is

SettingCity: Large
Size band20,000 and above
Undergraduates8,973
Highest award offeredDoctor's degree
Carnegie classificationDoctoral Universities: Highest Research Activity
AccreditorMiddle States Commission on Higher Education
CountyNew York County
SystemIndependent or not reported
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2024-25 academic year
Scope
Reported for this institution

Coded values are printed with the labels published alongside the data for this release.

Online availability

Flags first, confirmation second

Every program offered fully at a distance
No
Undergraduate programs offered fully at a distance
No
Undergraduate distance courses
Yes
Fields where every credential can be finished online
2
Fields where some credentials can be finished online
32
InsuranceMaster's
Fully online in this release

Online availability is reported by the institution. Confirm the exact program, tuition, format, in-person requirements, and availability in your state before applying.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2024-25 academic year
Scope
Reported for this institution

Institution-reported flags. A flag is not confirmation that a specific program runs online in your state.

Reading the data

How to read the numbers on this page.

This page carries no CollegeLineup score and no editorial ranking. Every value is published data reported for a stated year and group of students, and each one opens to show its cohort, scope, and limits. When a value is not reported, the page says so instead of guessing.

  • Cost and outcome figures describe past students, not youYour own price and result depend on your family finances, your program, and your choices
  • Some values cover a whole system rather than this campusWhere that is true, the value says so beside it
  • A blank is a blankData updated August 23, 2026. A value nobody reported is never shown as a zero

Nearby and similar in size

Compare the next choice.

Other four-year schools in New York, ordered by how close their undergraduate enrollment is to this one.