Fields of study · Physical Sciences

Materials Sciences

CIP 40.10. 67 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 646 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate38Not reportedNot reported
Bachelor's15160$94,684$73,395 to $112,834
Graduate certificate917Not reportedNot reported
Master's39259$116,810$85,722 to $146,921
Doctorate44202$144,084$109,358 to $181,645
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Materials Sciences credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 3 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Carnegie Mellon UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Pittsburgh, PA · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate
90 awards$119,715 median 4 years out
University of DelawarePublic, 4-year · Newark, DE · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
34 awardsProgram earnings not reported
University of ArizonaPublic, 4-year · Tucson, AZ · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
22 awardsProgram earnings not reported
University at BuffaloPublic, 4-year · Buffalo, NY · Master's, Doctorate
16 awardsProgram earnings not reported
University of RochesterPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Rochester, NY · Master's, Doctorate
9 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Duke UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Durham, NC · Doctorate, Master's
7 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Stevens Institute of TechnologyPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Hoboken, NJ · Graduate certificate, Master's, Doctorate · Fully online option reported
6 awardsProgram earnings not reported

Showing 24 of 67 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

3 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 40.10. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Architectural and Engineering ManagersManagement$171,270220,260
Natural Sciences ManagersManagement$167,220108,690
ChemistsLife, physical, and social science$91,24082,770
Materials ScientistsLife, physical, and social science$117,7908,470
Life, Physical, and Social Science Technicians, All OtherLife, physical, and social science$62,28073,910
Engineering Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$109,27040,270
Chemistry Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$93,25019,980
Postsecondary Teachers, All OtherEducational instruction and library$77,640149,840
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.