Fields of study · Health Professions and Related Programs

Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions

CIP 51.15. 1,008 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 33,847 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate3935,989$43,365$27,298 to $59,932
Associate3333,379$40,734$26,005 to $53,366
Bachelor's1232,909$52,119$38,401 to $68,626
Graduate certificate1882,350$60,655$44,355 to $76,093
Master's46818,842$59,571$41,812 to $76,123
Doctorate55378$77,066$50,657 to $108,832
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 165 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Grand Canyon UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Phoenix, AZ · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate · Fully online option reported
1,971 awards$58,045 median 4 years out
Capella UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Minneapolis, MN · Master's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
1,554 awards$59,050 median 4 years out
Walden UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Minneapolis, MN · Master's, Doctorate · Fully online option reported
928 awards$60,034 median 4 years out
Liberty UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Lynchburg, VA · Master's, Graduate certificate, Certificate · Fully online option reported
755 awards$53,721 median 4 years out
University of KentuckyPublic, 4-year · Lexington, KY · Graduate certificate, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
505 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Southern New Hampshire UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Manchester, NH · Master's, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
404 awards$63,147 median 4 years out
Touro University WorldwidePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Los Alamitos, CA · Master's · Fully online option reported
369 awards$65,314 median 4 years out
Northcentral UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · San Diego, CA · Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
367 awards$57,016 median 4 years out
Colorado Christian UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Lakewood, CO · Master's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate · Fully online option reported
241 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Alliant International University-San DiegoPrivate for-profit, 4-year · San Diego, CA · Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate, Certificate · Fully online option reported
240 awards$74,086 median 4 years out
Lesley UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Cambridge, MA · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate
225 awards$60,700 median 4 years out
Lamar UniversityPublic, 4-year · Beaumont, TX · Graduate certificate, Master's
214 awards$60,234 median 4 years out
Old Dominion UniversityPublic, 4-year · Norfolk, VA · Bachelor's, Certificate, Master's · Fully online option reported
214 awards$47,604 median 4 years out
New Mexico Highlands UniversityPublic, 4-year · Las Vegas, NM · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
202 awards$59,318 median 4 years out
Antioch University-SeattlePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Seattle, WA · Master's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate
198 awards$59,927 median 4 years out
Florida Atlantic UniversityPublic, 4-year · Boca Raton, FL · Master's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate
177 awards$58,963 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 1,008 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

355 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 51.15. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Clinical and Counseling PsychologistsLife, physical, and social science$100,58075,990
Marriage and Family TherapistsCommunity and social service$66,94066,740
Counselors, All OtherCommunity and social service$50,86028,580
Child, Family, and School Social WorkersCommunity and social service$59,550392,550
Healthcare Social WorkersCommunity and social service$67,880187,630
Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social WorkersCommunity and social service$60,280132,810
Social Workers, All OtherCommunity and social service$71,90062,930
Health Education SpecialistsCommunity and social service$64,07065,690
Community Health WorkersCommunity and social service$51,85061,660
ClergyCommunity and social service$60,81057,200
Directors, Religious Activities and EducationCommunity and social service$52,10022,160
Psychology Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$80,34041,530
Health Specialties Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$107,310221,270
Social Work Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$77,57012,610
Psychiatric TechniciansHealthcare practitioners and technical$45,130156,960

2 more occupations are linked to this field.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.