Fields of study · Social Sciences

Social Sciences, Other

CIP 45.99. 152 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 1,752 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate14112Not reportedNot reported
Associate10102$40,934$25,907 to $60,001
Bachelor's941,177$56,812$39,742 to $77,687
Graduate certificate1433$62,694Not reported
Master's37255$64,286$46,397 to $83,507
Doctorate1773$73,599$54,883 to $117,969
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Social Sciences, Other credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 12 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Towson UniversityPublic, 4-year · Towson, MD · Bachelor's
201 awards$62,559 median 4 years out
Boston UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Boston, MA · Certificate, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate
107 awardsProgram earnings not reported
New York UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · New York, NY · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
99 awards$74,983 median 4 years out
Rose State CollegePublic, 4-year · Midwest City, OK · Associate · Fully online option reported
57 awards$48,893 median 4 years out
Carl Albert State CollegePublic, 2-year · Poteau, OK · Associate · Fully online option reported
40 awards$28,986 median 4 years out
Wilmington UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · New Castle, DE · Master's, Doctorate · Fully online option reported
36 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Clark UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Worcester, MA · Master's, Bachelor's
30 awards$62,304 median 4 years out
Southwestern CollegePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Winfield, KS · Certificate, Master's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
27 awardsProgram earnings not reported
University of ChicagoPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Chicago, IL · Bachelor's
27 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Capella UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Minneapolis, MN · Doctorate, Graduate certificate, Master's · Fully online option reported
24 awards$73,080 median 4 years out
Empire State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Saratoga Springs, NY · Master's · Fully online option reported
22 awards$71,200 median 4 years out
Wesleyan UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Middletown, CT · Bachelor's
21 awardsProgram earnings not reported

Showing 24 of 152 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

41 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 45.99. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Managers, All OtherManagement$141,900622,190
Social Scientists and Related Workers, All OtherLife, physical, and social science$101,11037,100
Social Sciences Teachers, Postsecondary, All OtherEducational instruction and library$72,99016,580
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.