Fields of study · Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services

Insurance

CIP 52.17. 99 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 1,264 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate44292$80,539$66,261 to $96,868
Associate1915Not reportedNot reported
Bachelor's50891$88,472$65,734 to $112,764
Graduate certificate618Not reportedNot reported
Master's1048$114,663$92,608 to $172,671
Doctorate10Not reportedNot reported
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Insurance credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 18 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Florida State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Tallahassee, FL · Bachelor's, Master's · Fully online option reported
102 awards$92,064 median 4 years out
St. John's University-New YorkPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Queens, NY · Bachelor's, Certificate, Graduate certificate
31 awards$105,688 median 4 years out
University of KansasPublic, 4-year · Lawrence, KS · Certificate
25 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Georgia State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Atlanta, GA · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
24 awards$101,040 median 4 years out
University of IowaPublic, 4-year · Iowa City, IA · Graduate certificate, Bachelor's
19 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Butler UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Indianapolis, IN · Bachelor's, Master's · Fully online option reported
16 awards$89,343 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 99 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

23 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 52.17. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Compensation and Benefits ManagersManagement$149,23022,940
Claims Adjusters, Examiners, and InvestigatorsBusiness and financial operations$78,000324,230
Insurance Appraisers, Auto DamageBusiness and financial operations$78,24011,560
Compensation, Benefits, and Job Analysis SpecialistsBusiness and financial operations$78,210112,380
Insurance UnderwritersBusiness and financial operations$81,370105,420
Business Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$99,08082,150
Insurance Sales AgentsSales and related$62,280479,100
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.