Fields of study · Visual and Performing Arts

Dance

CIP 50.03. 362 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 3,060 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate52172$28,839Not reported
Associate84181$30,547$20,972 to $45,202
Bachelor's2672,491$39,980$24,910 to $57,333
Graduate certificate103Not reportedNot reported
Master's56202$55,404$29,626 to $74,645
Doctorate411$65,309Not reported
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Dance credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 3 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

New York UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · New York, NY · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate
73 awards$38,571 median 4 years out
Point Park UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Pittsburgh, PA · Bachelor's
63 awards$37,205 median 4 years out
University of UtahPublic, 4-year · Salt Lake City, UT · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate, Certificate
46 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Oklahoma City UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Oklahoma City, OK · Bachelor's, Master's
44 awards$34,105 median 4 years out
University of ArizonaPublic, 4-year · Tucson, AZ · Bachelor's, Master's
43 awards$34,010 median 4 years out
Brigham Young UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Provo, UT · Bachelor's, Master's
42 awardsProgram earnings not reported
The Ailey SchoolPrivate nonprofit, 2-year · New York, NY · Certificate
42 awards$24,453 median 4 years out
Texas State UniversityPublic, 4-year · San Marcos, TX · Bachelor's, Graduate certificate
41 awards$53,057 median 4 years out
SUNY at Purchase CollegePublic, 4-year · Purchase, NY · Bachelor's, Graduate certificate, Master's
40 awards$30,406 median 4 years out
Fordham UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Bronx, NY · Bachelor's
37 awards$47,036 median 4 years out
Utah Valley UniversityPublic, 4-year · Orem, UT · Associate, Bachelor's, Certificate
36 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Chapman UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Orange, CA · Bachelor's
35 awards$50,612 median 4 years out
University of FloridaPublic, 4-year · Gainesville, FL · Bachelor's, Certificate
34 awards$42,624 median 4 years out
Western Michigan UniversityPublic, 4-year · Kalamazoo, MI · Bachelor's, Certificate · Fully online option reported
33 awards$45,108 median 4 years out
Dean CollegePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Franklin, MA · Bachelor's, Associate
30 awards$36,644 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 362 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

63 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 50.03. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Art, Drama, and Music Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$78,62093,560
DancersArts, design, entertainment, sports, and mediaNot reported8,130
ChoreographersArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$55,3102,860
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.