Fields of study · Library Science

Library Science and Administration

CIP 25.01. 86 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 6,427 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate510Not reportedNot reported
Associate613Not reportedNot reported
Bachelor's10110$36,949$23,200 to $51,608
Graduate certificate40543$57,258$46,584 to $72,896
Master's665,742$56,301$45,620 to $68,514
Doctorate109$62,261$53,261 to $86,621
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Library Science and Administration credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 39 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

San Jose State UniversityPublic, 4-year · San Jose, CA · Master's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
778 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Texas Woman's UniversityPublic, 4-year · Denton, TX · Master's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
312 awards$57,458 median 4 years out
Simmons UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Boston, MA · Master's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate
277 awards$58,512 median 4 years out
University of Southern MississippiPublic, 4-year · Hattiesburg, MS · Master's, Graduate certificate, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
205 awards$48,769 median 4 years out
Emporia State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Emporia, KS · Master's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate
162 awards$54,843 median 4 years out
Pennsylvania Western UniversityPublic, 4-year · California, PA · Master's, Graduate certificate, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
161 awards$55,619 median 4 years out
Wayne State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Detroit, MI · Master's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
150 awards$54,979 median 4 years out
Kent State University at KentPublic, 4-year · Kent, OH · Master's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
147 awards$49,948 median 4 years out
Indiana University-IndianapolisPublic, 4-year · Indianapolis, IN · Master's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
145 awards$49,513 median 4 years out
University at BuffaloPublic, 4-year · Buffalo, NY · Master's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate · Fully online option reported
132 awards$56,619 median 4 years out
The University of AlabamaPublic, 4-year · Tuscaloosa, AL · Master's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate
123 awards$52,520 median 4 years out
Dominican UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · River Forest, IL · Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
116 awards$54,946 median 4 years out
Syracuse UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Syracuse, NY · Master's
107 awards$55,160 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 86 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

61 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 25.01. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Managers, All OtherManagement$141,900622,190
Library Science Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$80,3403,630
ArchivistsEducational instruction and library$64,5507,970
Librarians and Media Collections SpecialistsEducational instruction and library$68,270133,790
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.