Public, 4-year · Berkeley, CA

University of California-Berkeley

Land-grant

In this release33,068 undergraduates · 249 fields of study with reported awards. How to read these numbers

At a glance

The first facts to check

Updated August 23, 2026
Average net price
$13,481Aided students, per year
Completion rate
93%150 percent of normal time
Acceptance rate
12%Not a personal chance
Earnings 10 years after entry
$92,446System level, aided students
Campus setting
City: MidsizeInstitution location
School size
20,000 and aboveUndergraduate enrollment band
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Academic year 2021-22
Scope
Reported for this institution

Average net price for full-time beginning undergraduates who received Title IV federal aid. It is an average for one aid group, not a personal price.

Programs

Fields of study with reported awards

Browse all fields
Computer ScienceBachelor's · CIP 11.07 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
796 awards · $204,379 median 4 years out
EconomicsBachelor's · CIP 45.06 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
631 awards · $135,050 median 4 years out
LawDoctorate · CIP 22.01 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
408 awards · $226,996 median 4 years out
Show the other 237 fields
HistoryBachelor's · CIP 54.01
114 awards
PhysicsBachelor's · CIP 40.08
84 awards
MusicBachelor's · CIP 50.09
54 awards
PhysicsDoctorate · CIP 40.08
40 awards
PhysicsMaster's · CIP 40.08
22 awards
HistoryDoctorate · CIP 54.01
16 awards
DanceBachelor's · CIP 50.03
8 awards
OptometryGraduate certificate · CIP 51.17
8 awards
MusicDoctorate · CIP 50.09
6 awards
HistoryMaster's · CIP 54.01
5 awards
MusicMaster's · CIP 50.09
2 awards

Awards conferred show what the school actually granted in the award year. A field with few awards can still be a full program, and a field listed here can change. Confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the school.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Cost and aid

Start with net price, not sticker price.

Net price is what aided students paid on average after grants and scholarships. It is one average for one group of students, so your own offer can be higher or lower. This school publishes a net price calculator, linked below.

Open the school's net price calculator →

Estimate a loan payment →

Average net price
$13,481
In-state tuition and fees
$16,347
Out-of-state tuition and fees
$50,547
Published cost of attendance
$45,619
Undergraduates with a Pell Grant
29%
Median federal debt of completers
$13,000

Completion and outcomes

Keep school and program outcomes separate.

Earnings figures cover students who received federal aid and are calculated at the system level, which means campuses that share an OPE ID can report the same number. They describe past students, not a promise about you.

Program-level earnings appear beside individual fields in the programs section.

Completion rate
93%
First-year retention
97%
Earnings 6 years after entry
$74,919
Earnings 10 years after entry
$92,446
Undergraduates with federal loans
17%

Admissions context

Use the numbers without pretending they know the decision.

Acceptance rate
12%
Applicants
125,910
Admitted
14,677
SAT middle range
Not reported
ACT middle range
Not reported

Suggested planning category

Aim HighFrom reported data

  • The overall acceptance rate is 11.7 percent, which supports planning this as a stretch.
  • Overall rates are not program-specific and do not include qualitative factors.

What this school says it considers

Secondary school GPA
Required to be considered for admission
Secondary school rank
Not considered for admission, even if submitted
Secondary school record
Required to be considered for admission
Completion of college preparatory program
Not required for admission, but considered if submitted
Recommendations
Not required for admission, but considered if submitted
Formal demonstration of competencies
Not considered for admission, even if submitted
Admission test scores
Not considered for admission, even if submitted (Test Blind)
English proficiency test
Required to be considered for admission
Other test
Not considered for admission, even if submitted (Test Blind)
Work experience
Not required for admission, but considered if submitted
Personal statement or essay
Required to be considered for admission
Legacy status
Not considered for admission, even if submitted

Computed as reported admissions divided by reported applicants for the fall admissions cycle. Safe does not mean guaranteed. Admissions decisions depend on factors no public tool can fully predict.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Fall 2023 admissions cycle
Scope
Reported for this institution

Computed as reported admissions divided by reported applicants for the fall admissions cycle.

Institution facts

What kind of school this is

SettingCity: Midsize
Size band20,000 and above
Undergraduates33,068
Highest award offeredDoctor's degree
Carnegie classificationDoctoral Universities: Highest Research Activity
AccreditorWestern Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission
CountyAlameda County
SystemUniversity of California

This school holds land-grant status, which shapes its research and extension work.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2024-25 academic year
Scope
Reported for this institution

Coded values are printed with the labels published alongside the data for this release.

Online availability

Flags first, confirmation second

Every program offered fully at a distance
No
Undergraduate programs offered fully at a distance
No
Undergraduate distance courses
Yes
Fields where every credential can be finished online
0
Fields where some credentials can be finished online
1

Online availability is reported by the institution. Confirm the exact program, tuition, format, in-person requirements, and availability in your state before applying.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2024-25 academic year
Scope
Reported for this institution

Institution-reported flags. A flag is not confirmation that a specific program runs online in your state.

Reading the data

How to read the numbers on this page.

This page carries no CollegeLineup score and no editorial ranking. Every value is published data reported for a stated year and group of students, and each one opens to show its cohort, scope, and limits. When a value is not reported, the page says so instead of guessing.

  • Cost and outcome figures describe past students, not youYour own price and result depend on your family finances, your program, and your choices
  • Some values cover a whole system rather than this campusWhere that is true, the value says so beside it
  • A blank is a blankData updated August 23, 2026. A value nobody reported is never shown as a zero

Nearby and similar in size

Compare the next choice.

Other four-year schools in California, ordered by how close their undergraduate enrollment is to this one.