Fields of study · Physical Sciences

Physical Sciences, General

CIP 40.01. 208 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 2,632 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate34Not reportedNot reported
Associate1222,241$49,076$30,819 to $72,812
Bachelor's77348$68,944$47,921 to $91,964
Graduate certificate43Not reportedNot reported
Master's1123$72,703$55,361 to $93,647
Doctorate313Not reportedNot reported
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Physical Sciences, General credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 12 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Middlesex CollegePublic, 2-year · Edison, NJ · Associate
169 awards$67,944 median 4 years out
Richard Bland CollegePublic, 2-year · South Prince George, VA · Associate
151 awards$41,042 median 4 years out
Western Nevada CollegePublic, 4-year · Carson City, NV · Associate · Fully online option reported
136 awards$61,575 median 4 years out
Mesa Community CollegePublic, 4-year · Mesa, AZ · Associate · Fully online option reported
51 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Villanova UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Villanova, PA · Bachelor's, Associate
45 awards$80,302 median 4 years out
Green River CollegePublic, 4-year · Auburn, WA · Associate
44 awards$77,477 median 4 years out
Jackson CollegePublic, 4-year · Jackson, MI · Associate, Certificate
35 awards$54,734 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 208 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

23 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 40.01. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Natural Sciences ManagersManagement$167,220108,690
Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical EducationEducational instruction and library$72,0401,065,210
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.