Fields of study · Engineering

Engineering, General

CIP 14.01. 790 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 13,357 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate82895$79,019$60,880 to $95,779
Associate4274,902$72,916$52,003 to $88,560
Bachelor's2462,913$89,359$73,449 to $108,835
Graduate certificate33145Not reportedNot reported
Master's1304,081$120,215$97,333 to $152,041
Doctorate54421$133,630$101,399 to $178,065
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Engineering, General credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 36 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

University at BuffaloPublic, 4-year · Buffalo, NY · Master's, Bachelor's
473 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Northeastern UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Boston, MA · Master's, Doctorate
388 awards$119,842 median 4 years out
Dartmouth CollegePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Hanover, NH · Master's, Bachelor's
205 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Brown UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Providence, RI · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate
197 awards$108,550 median 4 years out
Lamar UniversityPublic, 4-year · Beaumont, TX · Master's, Doctorate
166 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Texas A&M University-College StationPublic, 4-year · College Station, TX · Master's, Certificate, Graduate certificate, Bachelor's, Doctorate · Fully online option reported
155 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Purdue University-Main CampusPublic, 4-year · West Lafayette, IN · Master's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate · Fully online option reported
111 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Old Dominion UniversityPublic, 4-year · Norfolk, VA · Master's, Doctorate, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
110 awards$103,194 median 4 years out
Santa Ana CollegePublic, 4-year · Santa Ana, CA · Certificate, Associate
110 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Ohio University-Main CampusPublic, 4-year · Athens, OH · Certificate, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate
104 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Mercer UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Macon, GA · Bachelor's
101 awards$88,413 median 4 years out
University of ArkansasPublic, 4-year · Fayetteville, AR · Master's, Doctorate
99 awards$123,834 median 4 years out
Rowan UniversityPublic, 4-year · Glassboro, NJ · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate
93 awards$104,475 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 790 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

130 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 14.01. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Architectural and Engineering ManagersManagement$171,270220,260
Engineers, All OtherArchitecture and engineering$122,930154,070
Engineering Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$109,27040,270
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.