Public, 4-year · Merced, CA

University of California-Merced

Land-grant

In this release8,372 undergraduates · 72 fields of study with reported awards. How to read these numbers

At a glance

The first facts to check

Updated August 23, 2026
Average net price
$11,983Aided students, per year
Completion rate
69%150 percent of normal time
Acceptance rate
39%Not a personal chance
Earnings 10 years after entry
$64,368System level, aided students
Campus setting
Suburb: MidsizeInstitution location
School size
5,000 - 9,999Undergraduate enrollment band
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Academic year 2021-22
Scope
Reported for this institution

Average net price for full-time beginning undergraduates who received Title IV federal aid. It is an average for one aid group, not a personal price.

Programs

Fields of study with reported awards

Browse all fields
Biology, GeneralBachelor's · CIP 26.01 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
286 awards · $59,249 median 4 years out
Computer EngineeringBachelor's · CIP 14.09 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
184 awards · $102,575 median 4 years out
Mechanical EngineeringBachelor's · CIP 14.19 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
139 awards · $95,040 median 4 years out
Public HealthBachelor's · CIP 51.22 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
93 awards · $56,393 median 4 years out
SociologyBachelor's · CIP 45.11 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
79 awards · $50,468 median 4 years out
Cognitive ScienceBachelor's · CIP 30.25 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
38 awards · $51,147 median 4 years out
Biomedical/Medical EngineeringBachelor's · CIP 14.05 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
30 awards · $88,795 median 4 years out
Applied MathematicsBachelor's · CIP 27.03 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
25 awards · $82,156 median 4 years out
Show the other 60 fields
HistoryBachelor's · CIP 54.01
25 awards
PhysicsBachelor's · CIP 40.08
14 awards
PhysicsMaster's · CIP 40.08
7 awards
PhysicsDoctorate · CIP 40.08
6 awards
HistoryMaster's · CIP 54.01
0 awards
HistoryDoctorate · CIP 54.01
0 awards

Awards conferred show what the school actually granted in the award year. A field with few awards can still be a full program, and a field listed here can change. Confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the school.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Cost and aid

Start with net price, not sticker price.

Net price is what aided students paid on average after grants and scholarships. It is one average for one group of students, so your own offer can be higher or lower. This school publishes a net price calculator, linked below.

Open the school's net price calculator →

Estimate a loan payment →

Average net price
$11,983
In-state tuition and fees
$15,623
Out-of-state tuition and fees
$49,823
Published cost of attendance
$39,665
Undergraduates with a Pell Grant
59%
Median federal debt of completers
$16,144

Completion and outcomes

Keep school and program outcomes separate.

Earnings figures cover students who received federal aid and are calculated at the system level, which means campuses that share an OPE ID can report the same number. They describe past students, not a promise about you.

Program-level earnings appear beside individual fields in the programs section.

Completion rate
69%
First-year retention
82%
Earnings 6 years after entry
$48,475
Earnings 10 years after entry
$64,368
Undergraduates with federal loans
29%

Admissions context

Use the numbers without pretending they know the decision.

Acceptance rate
39%
Applicants
67,891
Admitted
26,598
SAT middle range
Not reported
ACT middle range
Not reported

Suggested planning category

Needs reviewFrom reported data

  • No test score was shared, so score-based reasoning is not used.
  • Acceptance rate alone is not enough evidence for Realistic or Safe. Choose a category manually if you want one.

What this school says it considers

Secondary school GPA
Required to be considered for admission
Secondary school rank
Not considered for admission, even if submitted
Secondary school record
Required to be considered for admission
Completion of college preparatory program
Required to be considered for admission
Recommendations
Not considered for admission, even if submitted
Formal demonstration of competencies
Not considered for admission, even if submitted
Admission test scores
Not considered for admission, even if submitted (Test Blind)
English proficiency test
Required to be considered for admission
Other test
Not considered for admission, even if submitted (Test Blind)
Work experience
Not required for admission, but considered if submitted
Personal statement or essay
Required to be considered for admission
Legacy status
Not considered for admission, even if submitted

Computed as reported admissions divided by reported applicants for the fall admissions cycle. Safe does not mean guaranteed. Admissions decisions depend on factors no public tool can fully predict.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Fall 2023 admissions cycle
Scope
Reported for this institution

Computed as reported admissions divided by reported applicants for the fall admissions cycle.

Institution facts

What kind of school this is

SettingSuburb: Midsize
Size band5,000 - 9,999
Undergraduates8,372
Highest award offeredDoctor's degree
Carnegie classificationDoctoral Universities: Higher Research Activity
AccreditorWestern Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission
CountyMerced County
SystemUniversity of California

This school holds land-grant status, which shapes its research and extension work.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2024-25 academic year
Scope
Reported for this institution

Coded values are printed with the labels published alongside the data for this release.

Online availability

Flags first, confirmation second

Every program offered fully at a distance
No
Undergraduate programs offered fully at a distance
No
Undergraduate distance courses
Yes
Fields where every credential can be finished online
0
Fields where some credentials can be finished online
0

Online availability is reported by the institution. Confirm the exact program, tuition, format, in-person requirements, and availability in your state before applying.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2024-25 academic year
Scope
Reported for this institution

Institution-reported flags. A flag is not confirmation that a specific program runs online in your state.

Reading the data

How to read the numbers on this page.

This page carries no CollegeLineup score and no editorial ranking. Every value is published data reported for a stated year and group of students, and each one opens to show its cohort, scope, and limits. When a value is not reported, the page says so instead of guessing.

  • Cost and outcome figures describe past students, not youYour own price and result depend on your family finances, your program, and your choices
  • Some values cover a whole system rather than this campusWhere that is true, the value says so beside it
  • A blank is a blankData updated August 23, 2026. A value nobody reported is never shown as a zero

Nearby and similar in size

Compare the next choice.

Other four-year schools in California, ordered by how close their undergraduate enrollment is to this one.