Private nonprofit, 4-year · Waterville, ME

Colby College

In this release2,407 undergraduates · 38 fields of study with reported awards. How to read these numbers

At a glance

The first facts to check

Updated August 23, 2026
Average net price
$17,180Aided students, per year
Completion rate
89%150 percent of normal time
Acceptance rate
6.8%Not a personal chance
Earnings 10 years after entry
$80,490System level, aided students
Campus setting
Town: RemoteInstitution location
School size
1,000 - 4,999Undergraduate enrollment band
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Academic year 2021-22
Scope
Reported for this institution

Average net price for full-time beginning undergraduates who received Title IV federal aid. It is an average for one aid group, not a personal price.

Programs

Fields of study with reported awards

Browse all fields
EconomicsBachelor's · CIP 45.06 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
93 awards · $103,491 median 4 years out
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's · CIP 42.01 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
47 awards
Computer ScienceBachelor's · CIP 11.07 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
30 awards
Biology, GeneralBachelor's · CIP 26.01 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
26 awards
ChemistryBachelor's · CIP 40.05 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
23 awards
SociologyBachelor's · CIP 45.11 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
16 awards
Fine and Studio ArtsBachelor's · CIP 50.07 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
14 awards
Show the other 26 fields
HistoryBachelor's · CIP 54.01
13 awards
PhysicsBachelor's · CIP 40.08
8 awards
MusicBachelor's · CIP 50.09
4 awards

Awards conferred show what the school actually granted in the award year. A field with few awards can still be a full program, and a field listed here can change. Confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the school.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Cost and aid

Start with net price, not sticker price.

Net price is what aided students paid on average after grants and scholarships. It is one average for one group of students, so your own offer can be higher or lower. This school publishes a net price calculator, linked below.

Open the school's net price calculator →

Estimate a loan payment →

Average net price
$17,180
In-state tuition and fees
$69,600
Out-of-state tuition and fees
$69,600
Published cost of attendance
$85,420
Undergraduates with a Pell Grant
14%
Median federal debt of completers
$19,157

Completion and outcomes

Keep school and program outcomes separate.

Earnings figures cover students who received federal aid and are calculated at the system level, which means campuses that share an OPE ID can report the same number. They describe past students, not a promise about you.

Program-level earnings appear beside individual fields in the programs section.

Completion rate
89%
First-year retention
94%
Earnings 6 years after entry
$60,052
Earnings 10 years after entry
$80,490
Undergraduates with federal loans
8.5%

Admissions context

Use the numbers without pretending they know the decision.

Acceptance rate
6.8%
Applicants
17,786
Admitted
1,215
SAT middle range
1440 to 1550
ACT middle range
32 to 34

Suggested planning category

Aim HighFrom reported data

  • The overall acceptance rate is 6.8 percent, which supports planning this as a stretch.
  • Overall rates are not program-specific and do not include qualitative factors.

What this school says it considers

Secondary school GPA
Not required for admission, but considered if submitted
Secondary school rank
Not required for admission, but considered if submitted
Secondary school record
Required to be considered for admission
Completion of college preparatory program
Not required for admission, but considered if submitted
Recommendations
Not required for admission, but considered if submitted
Formal demonstration of competencies
Not required for admission, but considered if submitted
Admission test scores
Not required for admission, but considered if submitted (Test Optional)
English proficiency test
Required to be considered for admission
Other test
Not required for admission, but considered if submitted (Test Optional)
Work experience
Not required for admission, but considered if submitted
Personal statement or essay
Not required for admission, but considered if submitted
Legacy status
Not required for admission, but considered if submitted

Computed as reported admissions divided by reported applicants for the fall admissions cycle. Safe does not mean guaranteed. Admissions decisions depend on factors no public tool can fully predict.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Fall 2023 admissions cycle
Scope
Reported for this institution

Computed as reported admissions divided by reported applicants for the fall admissions cycle.

Institution facts

What kind of school this is

SettingTown: Remote
Size band1,000 - 4,999
Undergraduates2,407
Highest award offeredBachelor's degree
Carnegie classificationBaccalaureate Colleges: Arts & Sciences Focus
AccreditorNew England Commission on Higher Education
CountyKennebec County
SystemIndependent or not reported
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2024-25 academic year
Scope
Reported for this institution

Coded values are printed with the labels published alongside the data for this release.

Online availability

Flags first, confirmation second

Every program offered fully at a distance
No
Undergraduate programs offered fully at a distance
No
Undergraduate distance courses
No
Fields where every credential can be finished online
0
Fields where some credentials can be finished online
0

Online availability is reported by the institution. Confirm the exact program, tuition, format, in-person requirements, and availability in your state before applying.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2024-25 academic year
Scope
Reported for this institution

Institution-reported flags. A flag is not confirmation that a specific program runs online in your state.

Reading the data

How to read the numbers on this page.

This page carries no CollegeLineup score and no editorial ranking. Every value is published data reported for a stated year and group of students, and each one opens to show its cohort, scope, and limits. When a value is not reported, the page says so instead of guessing.

  • Cost and outcome figures describe past students, not youYour own price and result depend on your family finances, your program, and your choices
  • Some values cover a whole system rather than this campusWhere that is true, the value says so beside it
  • A blank is a blankData updated August 23, 2026. A value nobody reported is never shown as a zero

Nearby and similar in size

Compare the next choice.

Other four-year schools in Maine, ordered by how close their undergraduate enrollment is to this one.

Private nonprofit, 4-year

Husson University

Bangor, ME

2,618 undergraduates · 87 fields of study

Avg. net price
$21,005
Completion
59%
Acceptance
86%
Online programs reported
Compare Husson University