Private nonprofit, 4-year · Lexington, VA

Washington and Lee University

In this release1,881 undergraduates · 34 fields of study with reported awards. How to read these numbers

At a glance

The first facts to check

Updated August 23, 2026
Average net price
$23,781Aided students, per year
Completion rate
94%150 percent of normal time
Acceptance rate
17%Not a personal chance
Earnings 10 years after entry
$94,810System level, aided students
Campus setting
Town: DistantInstitution location
School size
1,000 - 4,999Undergraduate enrollment band
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Academic year 2021-22
Scope
Reported for this institution

Average net price for full-time beginning undergraduates who received Title IV federal aid. It is an average for one aid group, not a personal price.

Programs

Fields of study with reported awards

Browse all fields
LawDoctorate · CIP 22.01 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
142 awards · $110,606 median 4 years out
EconomicsBachelor's · CIP 45.06 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
28 awards · $115,837 median 4 years out
HistoryBachelor's · CIP 54.01 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
19 awards · $100,087 median 4 years out
Computer ScienceBachelor's · CIP 11.07 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
14 awards
Biology, GeneralBachelor's · CIP 26.01 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
13 awards
JournalismBachelor's · CIP 09.04 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
13 awards
MathematicsBachelor's · CIP 27.01 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
12 awards
Show the other 22 fields
PhysicsBachelor's · CIP 40.08
8 awards
MusicBachelor's · CIP 50.09
2 awards

Awards conferred show what the school actually granted in the award year. A field with few awards can still be a full program, and a field listed here can change. Confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the school.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Cost and aid

Start with net price, not sticker price.

Net price is what aided students paid on average after grants and scholarships. It is one average for one group of students, so your own offer can be higher or lower. This school publishes a net price calculator, linked below.

Open the school's net price calculator →

Estimate a loan payment →

Average net price
$23,781
In-state tuition and fees
$68,045
Out-of-state tuition and fees
$68,045
Published cost of attendance
$87,000
Undergraduates with a Pell Grant
11%
Median federal debt of completers
$19,500

Completion and outcomes

Keep school and program outcomes separate.

Earnings figures cover students who received federal aid and are calculated at the system level, which means campuses that share an OPE ID can report the same number. They describe past students, not a promise about you.

Program-level earnings appear beside individual fields in the programs section.

Completion rate
94%
First-year retention
97%
Earnings 6 years after entry
$76,516
Earnings 10 years after entry
$94,810
Undergraduates with federal loans
14%

Admissions context

Use the numbers without pretending they know the decision.

Acceptance rate
17%
Applicants
6,820
Admitted
1,184
SAT middle range
1410 to 1530
ACT middle range
32 to 35

Suggested planning category

Aim HighFrom reported data

  • The overall acceptance rate is 17.4 percent, which supports planning this as a stretch.
  • Overall rates are not program-specific and do not include qualitative factors.

What this school says it considers

Secondary school GPA
Not required for admission, but considered if submitted
Secondary school rank
Not required for admission, but considered if submitted
Secondary school record
Required to be considered for admission
Completion of college preparatory program
Required to be considered for admission
Recommendations
Required to be considered for admission
Formal demonstration of competencies
Not required for admission, but considered if submitted
Admission test scores
Not required for admission, but considered if submitted (Test Optional)
English proficiency test
Not required for admission, but considered if submitted (Test Optional)
Other test
Not considered for admission, even if submitted (Test Blind)
Work experience
Not required for admission, but considered if submitted
Personal statement or essay
Not required for admission, but considered if submitted
Legacy status
Not required for admission, but considered if submitted

Computed as reported admissions divided by reported applicants for the fall admissions cycle. Safe does not mean guaranteed. Admissions decisions depend on factors no public tool can fully predict.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Fall 2023 admissions cycle
Scope
Reported for this institution

Computed as reported admissions divided by reported applicants for the fall admissions cycle.

Institution facts

What kind of school this is

SettingTown: Distant
Size band1,000 - 4,999
Undergraduates1,881
Highest award offeredDoctor's degree
Carnegie classificationBaccalaureate Colleges: Arts & Sciences Focus
AccreditorSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
CountyLexington City
SystemIndependent or not reported
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2024-25 academic year
Scope
Reported for this institution

Coded values are printed with the labels published alongside the data for this release.

Online availability

Flags first, confirmation second

Every program offered fully at a distance
No
Undergraduate programs offered fully at a distance
No
Undergraduate distance courses
No
Fields where every credential can be finished online
0
Fields where some credentials can be finished online
0

Online availability is reported by the institution. Confirm the exact program, tuition, format, in-person requirements, and availability in your state before applying.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2024-25 academic year
Scope
Reported for this institution

Institution-reported flags. A flag is not confirmation that a specific program runs online in your state.

Reading the data

How to read the numbers on this page.

This page carries no CollegeLineup score and no editorial ranking. Every value is published data reported for a stated year and group of students, and each one opens to show its cohort, scope, and limits. When a value is not reported, the page says so instead of guessing.

  • Cost and outcome figures describe past students, not youYour own price and result depend on your family finances, your program, and your choices
  • Some values cover a whole system rather than this campusWhere that is true, the value says so beside it
  • A blank is a blankData updated August 23, 2026. A value nobody reported is never shown as a zero

Nearby and similar in size

Compare the next choice.

Other four-year schools in Virginia, ordered by how close their undergraduate enrollment is to this one.

Private nonprofit, 4-year

Marymount University

Arlington, VA

1,810 undergraduates · 75 fields of study

Avg. net price
$29,137
Completion
54%
Acceptance
81%
Online programs reported
Compare Marymount University

Private nonprofit, 4-year

Roanoke College

Salem, VA

1,767 undergraduates · 39 fields of study

Avg. net price
$24,503
Completion
67%
Acceptance
80%
Compare Roanoke College