Private for-profit, 4-year · San Francisco, CA

Academy of Art University

Open admissionOnline programs reported

In this release3,587 undergraduates · 62 fields of study with reported awards. How to read these numbers

At a glance

The first facts to check

Updated August 23, 2026
Average net price
$40,613Aided students, per year
Completion rate
34%150 percent of normal time
Acceptance rate
Open admissionNot a personal chance
Earnings 10 years after entry
$39,008System level, aided students
Campus setting
City: LargeInstitution location
School size
5,000 - 9,999Undergraduate enrollment band
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Academic year 2021-22
Scope
Reported for this institution

Average net price for full-time beginning undergraduates who received Title IV federal aid. It is an average for one aid group, not a personal price.

Programs

Fields of study with reported awards

Browse all fields
Graphic CommunicationsBachelor's · CIP 10.03 · Every credential in this field can be finished fully online
77 awards · $50,833 median 4 years out
Graphic CommunicationsMaster's · CIP 10.03 · Every credential in this field can be finished fully online
73 awards · $64,026 median 4 years out
Design and Applied ArtsMaster's · CIP 50.04 · Every credential in this field can be finished fully online
57 awards · $57,636 median 4 years out
Design and Applied ArtsBachelor's · CIP 50.04 · Every credential in this field can be finished fully online
54 awards · $38,583 median 4 years out
Apparel and TextilesBachelor's · CIP 19.09 · Every credential in this field can be finished fully online
43 awards · $41,565 median 4 years out
Fine and Studio ArtsMaster's · CIP 50.07 · Every credential in this field can be finished fully online
37 awards · $46,730 median 4 years out
Show the other 50 fields
MusicBachelor's · CIP 50.09
23 awards
MusicAssociate · CIP 50.09
4 awards
MusicMaster's · CIP 50.09
2 awards

Awards conferred show what the school actually granted in the award year. A field with few awards can still be a full program, and a field listed here can change. Confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the school.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Cost and aid

Start with net price, not sticker price.

Net price is what aided students paid on average after grants and scholarships. It is one average for one group of students, so your own offer can be higher or lower. This school publishes a net price calculator, linked below.

Open the school's net price calculator →

Estimate a loan payment →

Average net price
$40,613
In-state tuition and fees
$30,736
Out-of-state tuition and fees
$30,736
Published cost of attendance
$48,036
Undergraduates with a Pell Grant
41%
Median federal debt of completers
$31,000

Completion and outcomes

Keep school and program outcomes separate.

Earnings figures cover students who received federal aid and are calculated at the system level, which means campuses that share an OPE ID can report the same number. They describe past students, not a promise about you.

Program-level earnings appear beside individual fields in the programs section.

Completion rate
34%
First-year retention
75%
Earnings 6 years after entry
$30,452
Earnings 10 years after entry
$39,008
Undergraduates with federal loans
49%

Admissions context

Use the numbers without pretending they know the decision.

Acceptance rate
Open admission
Applicants
Not reported
Admitted
Not reported
SAT middle range
Not reported
ACT middle range
Not reported

Suggested planning category

Needs reviewFrom reported data

  • This school reports an open admission policy, so it admits every applicant who meets its basic requirements.
  • No acceptance rate is published for open admission schools. Choose a category yourself if you want one.

No admissions record for this institution. Admissions reporting covers only institutions without an open admission policy, so no acceptance rate is reported here. Safe does not mean guaranteed. Admissions decisions depend on factors no public tool can fully predict.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Fall 2023 admissions cycle
Scope
Reported for this institution
Why it is blank
Not reported in this release

Computed as reported admissions divided by reported applicants for the fall admissions cycle.

Institution facts

What kind of school this is

SettingCity: Large
Size band5,000 - 9,999
Undergraduates3,587
Highest award offeredMaster's degree
Carnegie classificationMaster's Colleges & Universities: Larger Programs
AccreditorWestern Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission
CountySan Francisco County
SystemIndependent or not reported
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2024-25 academic year
Scope
Reported for this institution

Coded values are printed with the labels published alongside the data for this release.

Online availability

Flags first, confirmation second

Every program offered fully at a distance
No
Undergraduate programs offered fully at a distance
Yes
Undergraduate distance courses
Yes
Fields where every credential can be finished online
59
Fields where some credentials can be finished online
0

Online availability is reported by the institution. Confirm the exact program, tuition, format, in-person requirements, and availability in your state before applying.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2024-25 academic year
Scope
Reported for this institution

Institution-reported flags. A flag is not confirmation that a specific program runs online in your state.

Reading the data

How to read the numbers on this page.

This page carries no CollegeLineup score and no editorial ranking. Every value is published data reported for a stated year and group of students, and each one opens to show its cohort, scope, and limits. When a value is not reported, the page says so instead of guessing.

  • Cost and outcome figures describe past students, not youYour own price and result depend on your family finances, your program, and your choices
  • Some values cover a whole system rather than this campusWhere that is true, the value says so beside it
  • A blank is a blankData updated August 23, 2026. A value nobody reported is never shown as a zero

Nearby and similar in size

Compare the next choice.

Other four-year schools in California, ordered by how close their undergraduate enrollment is to this one.

Public, 4-year

Taft College

Taft, CA

3,556 undergraduates · 37 fields of study

Avg. net price
$2,823
Completion
28%
Acceptance
Open admission
Open admission
Compare Taft College

Private nonprofit, 4-year

Biola University

La Mirada, CA

3,474 undergraduates · 92 fields of study

Avg. net price
$31,495
Completion
68%
Acceptance
60%
Online programs reported
Compare Biola University