Fields of study · Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related Fields

Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians

CIP 15.13. 602 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 9,562 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate5006,016$53,359$35,073 to $68,539
Associate3882,712$55,895$41,549 to $69,506
Bachelor's21577$71,753$56,763 to $85,957
Graduate certificate30Not reportedNot reported
Master's13254$72,860$46,042 to $90,450
Doctorate13Not reportedNot reported
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 19 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Academy of Art UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · San Francisco, CA · Master's, Bachelor's, Associate, Certificate · Fully online option reported
170 awards$71,613 median 4 years out
Valencia CollegePublic, 4-year · Orlando, FL · Certificate, Associate
141 awards$62,497 median 4 years out
Dallas CollegePublic, 4-year · Dallas, TX · Certificate, Associate
133 awards$55,406 median 4 years out
Lee CollegePublic, 2-year · Baytown, TX · Certificate, Associate
118 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Olympic CollegePublic, 4-year · Bremerton, WA · Certificate, Associate
110 awardsProgram earnings not reported
South Texas CollegePublic, 4-year · McAllen, TX · Certificate, Associate
90 awards$31,238 median 4 years out
Lane Community CollegePublic, 4-year · Eugene, OR · Certificate, Associate
87 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Santa Ana CollegePublic, 4-year · Santa Ana, CA · Certificate, Associate
86 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Utah Valley UniversityPublic, 4-year · Orem, UT · Associate, Certificate
85 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Pikes Peak State CollegePublic, 4-year · Colorado Springs, CO · Certificate, Associate
84 awardsProgram earnings not reported

Showing 24 of 602 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

64 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 15.13. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Architectural and Civil DraftersArchitecture and engineering$66,150103,700
Electrical and Electronics DraftersArchitecture and engineering$76,87017,920
Mechanical DraftersArchitecture and engineering$71,55039,960
Drafters, All OtherArchitecture and engineering$63,52014,470
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.