Fields of study · Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services

Computer Systems Networking and Telecommunications

CIP 11.09. 628 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 15,006 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate43510,021$50,162$33,749 to $68,140
Associate3483,074$54,971$38,957 to $74,374
Bachelor's801,159$73,587$51,216 to $102,147
Graduate certificate23217$92,103$61,842 to $118,850
Master's37531$114,420$77,629 to $165,189
Doctorate24Not reportedNot reported
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Computer Systems Networking and Telecommunications credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 78 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

MyComputerCareer at RaleighPrivate for-profit, 2-year · Raleigh, NC · Certificate · Fully online option reported
1,606 awards$49,524 median 4 years out
MyComputerCareer at IndianapolisPrivate for-profit, 2-year · Indianapolis, IN · Certificate · Fully online option reported
942 awards$50,496 median 4 years out
Western Governors UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Salt Lake City, UT · Bachelor's, Master's · Fully online option reported
452 awardsProgram earnings not reported
DeVry University-IllinoisPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Lisle, IL · Associate, Graduate certificate, Master's, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
415 awards$58,586 median 4 years out
MyComputerCareer at ColumbusPrivate for-profit, 2-year · Columbus, OH · Certificate · Fully online option reported
382 awards$51,632 median 4 years out
Joliet Junior CollegePublic, 2-year · Joliet, IL · Certificate, Associate
181 awards$71,822 median 4 years out
Dallas CollegePublic, 4-year · Dallas, TX · Certificate, Associate
179 awards$60,993 median 4 years out
Cypress CollegePublic, 4-year · Cypress, CA · Certificate, Associate
151 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Mesa Community CollegePublic, 4-year · Mesa, AZ · Certificate, Associate
144 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Delgado Community CollegePublic, 2-year · New Orleans, LA · Certificate, Associate · Fully online option reported
136 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Northwest Vista CollegePublic, 4-year · San Antonio, TX · Certificate, Associate
124 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Bismarck State CollegePublic, 4-year · Bismarck, ND · Certificate, Associate
112 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Sinclair Community CollegePublic, 4-year · Dayton, OH · Certificate, Associate · Fully online option reported
108 awards$74,999 median 4 years out
P C Age-Jersey CityPrivate for-profit, Less than 2-year · Jersey City, NJ · Certificate
106 awards$56,403 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 628 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

162 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 11.09. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Computer and Information Systems ManagersManagement$175,140670,570
Computer Systems AnalystsComputer and mathematical$105,850519,530
Information Security AnalystsComputer and mathematical$129,180190,650
Computer and Information Research ScientistsComputer and mathematical$140,30037,200
Computer Network Support SpecialistsComputer and mathematical$76,220146,190
Computer Network ArchitectsComputer and mathematical$134,050179,740
Database ArchitectsComputer and mathematical$139,50067,140
Computer ProgrammersComputer and mathematical$100,39092,230
Software DevelopersComputer and mathematical$135,9801,687,890
Computer Science Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$96,98035,480
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.