Fields of study · Theology and Religious Vocations
Missions/Missionary Studies and Missiology
CIP 39.03. 124 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 1,120 awards in the latest award year.
Award levels
Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned
Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.
| Level | Colleges | Awards | Median earnings | Middle range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate | 18 | 426 | $34,270 | $18,914 to $45,434 |
| Associate | 23 | 24 | $35,490 | $23,721 to $48,860 |
| Bachelor's | 91 | 253 | $40,103 | $25,327 to $55,233 |
| Graduate certificate | 19 | 22 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Master's | 48 | 307 | $55,204 | $36,354 to $87,271 |
| Doctorate | 16 | 88 | Not reported | Not reported |
Year, scope, and limits
- Cohort or year
- Most recent reported cohorts
- Scope
- Reported for this field of study
National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.
Colleges
Colleges that awarded Missions/Missionary Studies and Missiology credentials
Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 36 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.
Showing 24 of 124 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →
9 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.
Year, scope, and limits
- Cohort or year
- 2023-24 award year
- Scope
- Reported for this field of study
Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.
Related work
Kinds of work this field leads toward
These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 39.03. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.
| Occupation | Group | Median wage | Employed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Directors, Religious Activities and Education | Community and social service | $52,100 | 22,160 |
| Religious Workers, All Other | Community and social service | $45,280 | 15,760 |
| Philosophy and Religion Teachers, Postsecondary | Educational instruction and library | $80,260 | 20,460 |
Year, scope, and limits
- Cohort or year
- May 2025
- Scope
- Reported for this occupation, nationally
National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.
Nearby fields
Other fields in Theology and Religious Vocations
Limits
What this page cannot tell you
- Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
- Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
- Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
- Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.