Fields of study · Theology and Religious Vocations

Religious Education

CIP 39.04. 128 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 1,180 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate112Not reportedNot reported
Associate1221$36,227$13,285 to $64,690
Bachelor's74587$43,633$28,064 to $57,392
Graduate certificate2244$58,256Not reported
Master's60399$54,328$34,901 to $78,665
Doctorate15127$83,129$42,537 to $113,058
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Religious Education credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 27 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Grand Canyon UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Phoenix, AZ · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate, Certificate · Fully online option reported
369 awards$45,165 median 4 years out
Liberty UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Lynchburg, VA · Doctorate, Master's · Fully online option reported
99 awards$49,751 median 4 years out
Wheaton CollegePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Wheaton, IL · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate
44 awards$42,605 median 4 years out
University of the CumberlandsPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Williamsburg, KY · Bachelor's, Associate · Fully online option reported
38 awards$39,211 median 4 years out
Crown CollegePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Saint Bonifacius, MN · Bachelor's, Master's, Associate · Fully online option reported
36 awards$36,826 median 4 years out
Concordia University-NebraskaPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Seward, NE · Graduate certificate, Bachelor's, Master's · Fully online option reported
32 awards$55,729 median 4 years out
Moody Bible InstitutePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Chicago, IL · Bachelor's
26 awards$36,770 median 4 years out
North Park UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Chicago, IL · Master's
24 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Dallas Baptist UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Dallas, TX · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate, Associate
22 awards$50,647 median 4 years out
Azusa Pacific UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Azusa, CA · Master's, Doctorate, Bachelor's
21 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Midwestern Baptist Theological SeminaryPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Kansas City, MO · Master's, Doctorate, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate, Certificate · Fully online option reported
21 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Union Presbyterian SeminaryPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Richmond, VA · Master's, Graduate certificate
19 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Veritas Baptist CollegePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Lawrenceburg, IN · Bachelor's, Associate, Master's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate · Fully online option reported
15 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Biola UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · La Mirada, CA · Bachelor's, Doctorate, Master's
11 awards$40,261 median 4 years out
Lindsey Wilson CollegePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Columbia, KY · Bachelor's
9 awardsProgram earnings not reported

Showing 24 of 128 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

17 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 39.04. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Directors, Religious Activities and EducationCommunity and social service$52,10022,160
Philosophy and Religion Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$80,26020,460
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.