Fields of study · Public Administration and Social Service Professions

Human Services, General

CIP 44.00. 496 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 11,554 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate1561,219$36,390$21,058 to $52,368
Associate2733,750$39,422$24,115 to $52,609
Bachelor's2055,576$48,597$35,249 to $62,659
Graduate certificate1743Not reportedNot reported
Master's56842$57,050$43,407 to $73,575
Doctorate5124$70,068$47,979 to $107,743
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Human Services, General credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 126 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Grand Canyon UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Phoenix, AZ · Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
1,209 awards$48,766 median 4 years out
Ultimate Medical AcademyPrivate nonprofit, 2-year · Clearwater, FL · Associate · Fully online option reported
692 awards$29,342 median 4 years out
Purdue University GlobalPublic, 4-year · West Lafayette, IN · Master's, Associate, Bachelor's, Certificate · Fully online option reported
355 awards$52,013 median 4 years out
Walden UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Minneapolis, MN · Master's, Doctorate, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
271 awards$56,751 median 4 years out
Bryant & Stratton College-OnlinePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Orchard Park, NY · Associate, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
204 awards$39,830 median 4 years out
Monroe UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Bronx, NY · Associate, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
151 awards$45,208 median 4 years out
Post UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Waterbury, CT · Bachelor's, Master's · Fully online option reported
120 awards$51,181 median 4 years out
Lindsey Wilson CollegePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Columbia, KY · Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
110 awards$42,004 median 4 years out
Holyoke Community CollegePublic, 2-year · Holyoke, MA · Certificate, Associate · Fully online option reported
109 awardsProgram earnings not reported
University of the CumberlandsPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Williamsburg, KY · Bachelor's, Associate · Fully online option reported
97 awards$37,823 median 4 years out
Ashford UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · San Diego, CA · Master's, Doctorate · Fully online option reported
84 awardsProgram earnings not reported
York County Community CollegePublic, 2-year · Wells, ME · Certificate, Associate · Fully online option reported
83 awards$37,561 median 4 years out
Columbia CollegePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Columbia, MO · Bachelor's, Associate · Fully online option reported
81 awards$46,785 median 4 years out
Capella UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Minneapolis, MN · Doctorate, Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
75 awards$71,288 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 496 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

186 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 44.00. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Social and Community Service ManagersManagement$80,390209,330
Social and Human Service AssistantsCommunity and social service$45,930437,860
Community and Social Service Specialists, All OtherCommunity and social service$56,730107,730
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.