Fields of study · Social Sciences

Criminology

CIP 45.04. 249 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 9,677 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate7250Not reportedNot reported
Associate12241$44,936$30,840 to $61,428
Bachelor's2168,315$55,556$41,042 to $73,111
Graduate certificate923$70,346$30,714 to $84,711
Master's64792$67,647$50,732 to $92,593
Doctorate1856$84,153$69,565 to $108,341
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Criminology credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 46 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

University of South FloridaPublic, 4-year · Tampa, FL · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate · Fully online option reported
434 awards$53,883 median 4 years out
East Carolina UniversityPublic, 4-year · Greenville, NC · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate
183 awardsProgram earnings not reported
University of FloridaPublic, 4-year · Gainesville, FL · Bachelor's, Doctorate, Master's · Fully online option reported
169 awards$57,953 median 4 years out
Old Dominion UniversityPublic, 4-year · Norfolk, VA · Bachelor's, Doctorate · Fully online option reported
168 awards$56,659 median 4 years out
The University of TampaPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Tampa, FL · Bachelor's, Master's
149 awards$60,742 median 4 years out
University of UtahPublic, 4-year · Salt Lake City, UT · Bachelor's, Certificate
137 awardsProgram earnings not reported
University of West GeorgiaPublic, 4-year · Carrollton, GA · Bachelor's, Master's · Fully online option reported
122 awards$50,048 median 4 years out
Pennsylvania Western UniversityPublic, 4-year · California, PA · Bachelor's, Associate, Doctorate, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
119 awardsProgram earnings not reported

Showing 24 of 249 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

125 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 45.04. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Managers, All OtherManagement$141,900622,190
Psychologists, All OtherLife, physical, and social science$110,84018,820
SociologistsLife, physical, and social science$106,0302,260
Life, Physical, and Social Science Technicians, All OtherLife, physical, and social science$62,28073,910
Criminal Justice and Law Enforcement Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$76,59013,150
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.