Fields of study · Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs

Publishing

CIP 09.10. 33 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 330 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate957Not reportedNot reported
Associate10Not reportedNot reported
Bachelor's1074$36,148$18,399 to $48,069
Graduate certificate1010Not reportedNot reported
Master's9189$63,992$50,581 to $81,870
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Publishing credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 5 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

George Washington UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Washington, DC · Master's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
49 awards$70,038 median 4 years out
New York UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · New York, NY · Master's
40 awards$68,796 median 4 years out
Emerson CollegePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Boston, MA · Master's
39 awards$61,304 median 4 years out
Pace UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · New York, NY · Master's, Graduate certificate
27 awards$65,229 median 4 years out
CUNY City CollegePublic, 4-year · New York, NY · Certificate
13 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Belmont UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Nashville, TN · Bachelor's
9 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Susquehanna UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Selinsgrove, PA · Bachelor's
6 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Rosemont CollegePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Rosemont, PA · Master's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
5 awardsProgram earnings not reported
McDaniel CollegePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Westminster, MD · Bachelor's
3 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Rowan UniversityPublic, 4-year · Glassboro, NJ · Certificate
2 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Cornerstone UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Grand Rapids, MI · Bachelor's
1 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Hastings CollegePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Hastings, NE · Bachelor's
1 awardsProgram earnings not reported

Showing 24 of 33 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

5 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 09.10. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
EditorsArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$77,92091,690
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.