Fields of study · Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs

Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs, Other

CIP 09.99. 99 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 1,070 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate1013$50,518$33,958 to $70,492
Associate1170$37,650$27,429 to $52,260
Bachelor's63590$55,384$39,832 to $74,512
Graduate certificate1113Not reportedNot reported
Master's22381$85,444$56,855 to $120,526
Doctorate23Not reportedNot reported
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs, Other credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 9 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Howard UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Washington, DC · Bachelor's
137 awards$59,909 median 4 years out
High Point UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · High Point, NC · Master's
129 awardsProgram earnings not reported
New York UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · New York, NY · Master's, Graduate certificate
100 awards$94,135 median 4 years out
University of Minnesota-Twin CitiesPublic, 4-year · Minneapolis, MN · Bachelor's, Graduate certificate, Master's, Doctorate, Certificate · Fully online option reported
47 awards$74,597 median 4 years out
Gonzaga UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Spokane, WA · Master's · Fully online option reported
45 awards$73,912 median 4 years out
Berry CollegePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Mount Berry, GA · Bachelor's
29 awards$50,593 median 4 years out
Fordham UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Bronx, NY · Master's
22 awards$66,412 median 4 years out
Benedictine CollegePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Atchison, KS · Bachelor's
19 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Bowie State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Bowie, MD · Master's, Graduate certificate
17 awards$83,948 median 4 years out
Miles CollegePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Fairfield, AL · Bachelor's
11 awardsProgram earnings not reported

Showing 24 of 99 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

20 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 09.99. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Communications Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$78,58029,420
EditorsArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$77,92091,690
Writers and AuthorsArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$76,91047,940
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.