Fields of study · Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies

Geography and Environmental Studies

CIP 30.44. 69 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 927 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate766Not reportedNot reported
Associate12Not reportedNot reported
Bachelor's55606$55,678$46,952 to $75,105
Graduate certificate20Not reportedNot reported
Master's34186Not reportedNot reported
Doctorate2567Not reportedNot reported
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Geography and Environmental Studies credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 4 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Dartmouth CollegePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Hanover, NH · Bachelor's
63 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Clark UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Worcester, MA · Bachelor's, Doctorate, Master's
39 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Ohio University-Main CampusPublic, 4-year · Athens, OH · Bachelor's, Certificate, Master's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
35 awardsProgram earnings not reported
The University of AlabamaPublic, 4-year · Tuscaloosa, AL · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
29 awardsProgram earnings not reported
University of FloridaPublic, 4-year · Gainesville, FL · Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
29 awardsProgram earnings not reported
University of OregonPublic, 4-year · Eugene, OR · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
27 awards$52,946 median 4 years out
University of KansasPublic, 4-year · Lawrence, KS · Certificate, Bachelor's, Doctorate, Master's, Graduate certificate
22 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Macalester CollegePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Saint Paul, MN · Bachelor's
21 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Texas Tech UniversityPublic, 4-year · Lubbock, TX · Master's, Bachelor's
19 awardsProgram earnings not reported
University of Florida-OnlinePublic, 4-year · Gainesville, FL · Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
15 awardsProgram earnings not reported

Showing 24 of 69 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

1 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 30.44. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Natural Sciences ManagersManagement$167,220108,690
Conservation ScientistsLife, physical, and social science$73,01025,950
Environmental Scientists and Specialists, Including HealthLife, physical, and social science$82,22089,250
GeographersLife, physical, and social science$102,0401,400
Social Scientists and Related Workers, All OtherLife, physical, and social science$101,11037,100
Environmental Science and Protection Technicians, Including HealthLife, physical, and social science$55,09034,670
Environmental Science Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$94,9806,690
Geography Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$97,5903,330
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.