Fields of study · Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services

Fire Protection

CIP 43.02. 483 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 14,994 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate3519,263$62,436$44,791 to $81,163
Associate3783,791$73,589$54,542 to $96,772
Bachelor's461,745$86,436$62,692 to $114,175
Graduate certificate66Not reportedNot reported
Master's10186$86,743$62,369 to $113,179
Doctorate13Not reportedNot reported
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Fire Protection credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 58 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Columbia Southern UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Orange Beach, AL · Bachelor's, Associate, Master's, Certificate, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
1,587 awards$88,735 median 4 years out
Santa Ana CollegePublic, 4-year · Santa Ana, CA · Certificate, Associate
420 awards$68,944 median 4 years out
Shasta CollegePublic, 4-year · Redding, CA · Certificate, Associate
287 awards$70,119 median 4 years out
Utah Valley UniversityPublic, 4-year · Orem, UT · Associate, Bachelor's, Certificate
255 awards$78,436 median 4 years out
Rio Hondo CollegePublic, 4-year · Whittier, CA · Certificate, Associate · Fully online option reported
244 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Victor Valley CollegePublic, 2-year · Victorville, CA · Certificate, Associate
228 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Miami Dade CollegePublic, 4-year · Miami, FL · Certificate, Associate
219 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Purdue University GlobalPublic, 4-year · West Lafayette, IN · Bachelor's, Master's, Associate · Fully online option reported
186 awards$97,967 median 4 years out
Lone Star College SystemPublic, 4-year · The Woodlands, TX · Certificate, Associate
173 awardsProgram earnings not reported
East Los Angeles CollegePublic, 2-year · Monterey Park, CA · Certificate, Associate
172 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Valencia CollegePublic, 4-year · Orlando, FL · Certificate, Associate
171 awards$61,605 median 4 years out
Palomar CollegePublic, 2-year · San Marcos, CA · Certificate, Associate
168 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Oxnard CollegePublic, 2-year · Oxnard, CA · Certificate, Associate
166 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Allan Hancock CollegePublic, 2-year · Santa Maria, CA · Certificate, Associate
146 awardsProgram earnings not reported
San Antonio CollegePublic, 4-year · San Antonio, TX · Certificate, Associate
135 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Moreno Valley CollegePublic, 2-year · Moreno Valley, CA · Certificate, Associate
133 awards$77,923 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 483 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

80 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 43.02. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Managers, All OtherManagement$141,900622,190
Career/Technical Education Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$63,820114,110
First-Line Supervisors of Firefighting and Prevention WorkersProtective service$93,53099,140
FirefightersProtective service$59,280345,990
Fire Inspectors and InvestigatorsProtective service$75,92013,800
Forest Fire Inspectors and Prevention SpecialistsProtective service$56,8702,780
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.