Fields of study · Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services

Homeland Security

CIP 43.03. 351 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 6,199 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate132964$62,995$45,318 to $81,707
Associate99438$58,829$44,171 to $79,406
Bachelor's1282,600$70,193$51,236 to $95,443
Graduate certificate90299$84,606$59,270 to $108,552
Master's941,869$96,660$67,656 to $128,776
Doctorate629$149,417Not reported
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Homeland Security credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 126 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

American Public University SystemPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Charles Town, WV · Bachelor's, Master's, Associate, Certificate, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
906 awards$77,122 median 4 years out
Columbia Southern UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Orange Beach, AL · Master's, Bachelor's, Associate, Certificate · Fully online option reported
292 awards$93,851 median 4 years out
Grand Canyon UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Phoenix, AZ · Bachelor's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
192 awards$84,553 median 4 years out
George Mason UniversityPublic, 4-year · Fairfax, VA · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate
150 awards$143,972 median 4 years out
University at AlbanyPublic, 4-year · Albany, NY · Bachelor's, Graduate certificate, Master's
148 awards$69,365 median 4 years out
Laredo CollegePublic, 4-year · Laredo, TX · Certificate, Associate
133 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Waldorf UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Forest City, IA · Bachelor's, Associate · Fully online option reported
129 awards$76,520 median 4 years out
Utica UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Utica, NY · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate, Certificate
100 awards$82,733 median 4 years out
National UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · San Diego, CA · Bachelor's, Master's · Fully online option reported
78 awards$80,134 median 4 years out
American UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Washington, DC · Master's
77 awards$96,954 median 4 years out
Sam Houston State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Huntsville, TX · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate, Certificate · Fully online option reported
69 awards$82,876 median 4 years out
Central Texas CollegePublic, 2-year · Killeen, TX · Certificate, Associate · Fully online option reported
68 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Post UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Waterbury, CT · Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
67 awards$66,145 median 4 years out
Georgetown UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Washington, DC · Master's
63 awards$108,885 median 4 years out
University of Central FloridaPublic, 4-year · Orlando, FL · Bachelor's, Master's · Fully online option reported
63 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Eastern Kentucky UniversityPublic, 4-year · Richmond, KY · Bachelor's, Graduate certificate, Certificate
62 awards$67,096 median 4 years out
Jacksonville State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Jacksonville, AL · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate · Fully online option reported
58 awardsProgram earnings not reported

Showing 24 of 351 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

68 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 43.03. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Emergency Management DirectorsManagement$93,33013,500
Managers, All OtherManagement$141,900622,190
Criminal Justice and Law Enforcement Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$76,59013,150
Postsecondary Teachers, All OtherEducational instruction and library$77,640149,840
First-Line Supervisors of Police and DetectivesProtective service$106,040154,610
First-Line Supervisors of Security WorkersProtective service$55,94081,480
First-Line Supervisors of Protective Service Workers, All OtherProtective service$76,40020,690
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.