Fields of study · Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies

Outdoor Education

CIP 31.06. 55 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 324 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate1855Not reportedNot reported
Associate1248Not reportedNot reported
Bachelor's30156$39,157$26,619 to $51,267
Graduate certificate24Not reportedNot reported
Master's661$59,399$48,720 to $68,127
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Outdoor Education credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 5 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Prescott CollegePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Prescott, AZ · Master's, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
37 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Minnesota North CollegePublic, 2-year · Hibbing, MN · Certificate, Associate
17 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Vermont State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Randolph, VT · Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
16 awards$35,579 median 4 years out
Fort Lewis CollegePublic, 4-year · Durango, CO · Bachelor's, Certificate
15 awards$39,598 median 4 years out
SUNY AdirondackPublic, 2-year · Queensbury, NY · Associate
15 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Salisbury UniversityPublic, 4-year · Salisbury, MD · Bachelor's
13 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Warren Wilson CollegePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Swannanoa, NC · Bachelor's
13 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Western Carolina UniversityPublic, 4-year · Cullowhee, NC · Master's · Fully online option reported
12 awardsProgram earnings not reported
North Idaho CollegePublic, 2-year · Coeur d'Alene, ID · Associate, Certificate
9 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Elon UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Elon, NC · Bachelor's
8 awardsProgram earnings not reported
John Brown UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Siloam Springs, AR · Bachelor's
8 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Gratz CollegePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Melrose Park, PA · Master's · Fully online option reported
7 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Northland CollegePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Ashland, WI · Bachelor's
7 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Brevard CollegePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Brevard, NC · Bachelor's
6 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Liberty UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Lynchburg, VA · Bachelor's
6 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Montreat CollegePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Montreat, NC · Bachelor's
5 awardsProgram earnings not reported

Showing 24 of 55 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

2 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 31.06. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
First-Line Supervisors of Entertainment and Recreation Workers, Except Gambling ServicesPersonal care and service$48,560103,190
Recreation WorkersPersonal care and service$36,560331,490
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.