Fields of study · Health Professions and Related Programs

Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants

CIP 51.39. 1,279 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 99,145 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate1,25196,352$56,073$37,200 to $76,301
Associate1142,752$62,755$38,781 to $92,271
Bachelor's814$39,305$22,247 to $72,381
Graduate certificate422$55,501$50,577 to $107,359
Doctorate15Not reportedNot reported
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 11 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Unitek CollegePrivate for-profit, 4-year · Fremont, CA · Certificate, Associate · Fully online option reported
1,524 awards$82,448 median 4 years out
Gurnick Academy of Medical ArtsPrivate for-profit, 4-year · San Jose, CA · Certificate, Associate · Fully online option reported
869 awards$71,282 median 4 years out
ECPI UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Virginia Beach, VA · Certificate
747 awards$55,339 median 4 years out
Access CareersPrivate for-profit, Less than 2-year · Hempstead, NY · Certificate
582 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Davis Technical CollegePublic, Less than 2-year · Kaysville, UT · Certificate
433 awards$57,325 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 1,279 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

757 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 51.39. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational NursesHealthcare practitioners and technical$64,400648,410
Nursing AssistantsHealthcare support$42,2601,448,910
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.