Fields of study · Health Professions and Related Programs

Alternative and Complementary Medicine and Medical Systems

CIP 51.33. 92 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 2,988 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate26572$36,403$14,798 to $58,443
Associate796$30,016$13,298 to $48,587
Bachelor's10290$40,222$20,954 to $62,137
Graduate certificate2090$40,973Not reported
Master's531,089$35,462$16,372 to $62,741
Doctorate32851$45,167$20,660 to $81,229
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Alternative and Complementary Medicine and Medical Systems credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 17 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

American College of Healthcare SciencesPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Portland, OR · Certificate, Associate, Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
255 awards$31,204 median 4 years out
Five Branches UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Santa Cruz, CA · Doctorate, Master's
134 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Maharishi International UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Fairfield, IA · Master's, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
123 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Bastyr UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Kenmore, WA · Doctorate, Master's, Graduate certificate
114 awards$45,224 median 4 years out
Everglades UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Boca Raton, FL · Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
106 awards$36,960 median 4 years out
South Baylo UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Anaheim, CA · Doctorate, Master's
77 awardsProgram earnings not reported
MCPHS UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Boston, MA · Master's, Doctorate
47 awards$45,248 median 4 years out
Ashford UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · San Diego, CA · Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
45 awards$44,036 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 92 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

41 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 51.33. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
AcupuncturistsHealthcare practitioners and technical$76,0407,830
Healthcare Diagnosing or Treating Practitioners, All OtherHealthcare practitioners and technical$115,21028,630
Healthcare Practitioners and Technical Workers, All OtherHealthcare practitioners and technical$65,79035,010
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.