Fields of study · Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics

American Sign Language

CIP 16.16. 218 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 2,296 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate130957$41,771$25,434 to $57,857
Associate135743$37,886$23,705 to $50,828
Bachelor's52483$45,044$30,539 to $59,549
Graduate certificate49Not reportedNot reported
Master's7100$73,769$54,693 to $91,695
Doctorate14Not reportedNot reported
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded American Sign Language credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 11 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Gallaudet UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Washington, DC · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate
59 awards$78,197 median 4 years out
Western Oregon UniversityPublic, 4-year · Monmouth, OR · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate
42 awards$48,295 median 4 years out
Rochester Institute of TechnologyPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Rochester, NY · Bachelor's, Master's · Fully online option reported
37 awards$45,330 median 4 years out
Temple UniversityPublic, 4-year · Philadelphia, PA · Certificate
32 awards$66,762 median 4 years out
Blue Ridge Community CollegePublic, 2-year · Flat Rock, NC · Certificate, Associate · Fully online option reported
30 awardsProgram earnings not reported
American River CollegePublic, 2-year · Sacramento, CA · Associate, Certificate
28 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Grossmont CollegePublic, 2-year · El Cajon, CA · Certificate, Associate
28 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Mt San Antonio CollegePublic, 2-year · Walnut, CA · Associate, Certificate · Fully online option reported
27 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Pikes Peak State CollegePublic, 4-year · Colorado Springs, CO · Certificate, Associate
27 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Palomar CollegePublic, 2-year · San Marcos, CA · Associate, Certificate
24 awardsProgram earnings not reported

Showing 24 of 218 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

31 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 16.16. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Foreign Language and Literature Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$79,35019,830
Postsecondary Teachers, All OtherEducational instruction and library$77,640149,840
Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical EducationEducational instruction and library$72,0401,065,210
Interpreters and TranslatorsArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$60,17052,060
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.