Fields of study · Mechanic and Repair Technologies/Technicians

Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR)

CIP 47.02. 657 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 22,831 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate62720,577$48,148$30,565 to $66,383
Associate2552,254$58,236$40,333 to $75,430
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 1 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Eastern Arizona CollegePublic, 4-year · Thatcher, AZ · Certificate, Associate
359 awardsProgram earnings not reported
UEI College-RiversidePrivate for-profit, Less than 2-year · Riverside, CA · Certificate
269 awards$43,528 median 4 years out
Lone Star College SystemPublic, 4-year · The Woodlands, TX · Certificate, Associate
216 awards$47,451 median 4 years out
College of Lake CountyPublic, 2-year · Grayslake, IL · Certificate, Associate
215 awardsProgram earnings not reported
UEI College-FresnoPrivate for-profit, Less than 2-year · Fresno, CA · Certificate
210 awards$37,597 median 4 years out
Charter CollegePrivate for-profit, 4-year · Anchorage, AK · Certificate
201 awards$57,910 median 4 years out
Brownson Technical SchoolPrivate for-profit, Less than 2-year · Anaheim, CA · Certificate
197 awards$59,132 median 4 years out
Apex Technical SchoolPrivate nonprofit, Less than 2-year · Long Island City, NY · Certificate
196 awards$48,212 median 4 years out
NUC UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Bayamon, PR · Certificate
181 awards$45,209 median 4 years out
UEI College-OntarioPrivate for-profit, Less than 2-year · Ontario, CA · Certificate
177 awards$46,711 median 4 years out
Porter & Chester InstitutePrivate for-profit, Less than 2-year · Bridgeport, CT · Certificate
162 awards$60,224 median 4 years out
Chicago Professional CenterPrivate for-profit, Less than 2-year · Prospect Heights, IL · Certificate
159 awardsProgram earnings not reported

Showing 24 of 657 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

254 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 47.02. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Heating, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration Mechanics and InstallersInstallation, maintenance, and repair$61,010409,670
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.