Fields of study · Personal and Culinary Services

Culinary Arts and Related Services

CIP 12.05. 619 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 24,390 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate56215,817$30,572$16,650 to $45,557
Associate4268,105$39,605$26,731 to $52,757
Bachelor's32450$47,668$32,862 to $61,660
Graduate certificate20Not reportedNot reported
Master's418$49,390Not reported
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Culinary Arts and Related Services credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 9 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

NUC UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Bayamon, PR · Certificate, Associate
1,307 awards$20,364 median 4 years out
Culinary Institute of AmericaPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Hyde Park, NY · Associate, Bachelor's, Certificate
756 awards$48,317 median 4 years out
Valencia CollegePublic, 4-year · Orlando, FL · Certificate, Associate
397 awards$41,850 median 4 years out
St Philip's CollegePublic, 4-year · San Antonio, TX · Certificate, Associate
187 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Lake Land CollegePublic, 2-year · Mattoon, IL · Certificate
178 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Culinary Institute IncPrivate for-profit, 2-year · Houston, TX · Associate, Certificate
162 awards$41,359 median 4 years out
Dallas CollegePublic, 4-year · Dallas, TX · Certificate, Associate
161 awards$44,490 median 4 years out
Miami Dade CollegePublic, 4-year · Miami, FL · Certificate, Associate
149 awards$50,344 median 4 years out
ECPI UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Virginia Beach, VA · Associate, Certificate
136 awards$36,225 median 4 years out
Arizona Culinary InstitutePrivate for-profit, Less than 2-year · Scottsdale, AZ · Certificate
127 awards$44,800 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 619 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

183 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 12.05. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Food Service ManagersManagement$69,390238,430
Food Scientists and TechnologistsLife, physical, and social science$88,72013,060
Postsecondary Teachers, All OtherEducational instruction and library$77,640149,840
Chefs and Head CooksFood preparation and serving$62,470200,040
First-Line Supervisors of Food Preparation and Serving WorkersFood preparation and serving$44,0801,223,240
Cooks, Institution and CafeteriaFood preparation and serving$37,450441,050
Cooks, Private HouseholdFood preparation and serving$47,9401,100
Cooks, RestaurantFood preparation and serving$37,3901,409,890
Cooks, All OtherFood preparation and serving$37,69019,350
BartendersFood preparation and serving$34,340756,390
BakersProduction$37,160236,200
Butchers and Meat CuttersProduction$40,140136,430
Slaughterers and Meat PackersProduction$40,13069,950
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.