Fields of study · Transportation and Materials Moving

Air Transportation

CIP 49.01. 252 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 10,815 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate1181,297$38,259$23,397 to $57,015
Associate1261,812$75,495$52,924 to $111,091
Bachelor's1146,766$85,825$61,701 to $118,209
Graduate certificate1095Not reportedNot reported
Master's25817$110,104$82,670 to $144,028
Doctorate728Not reportedNot reported
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Air Transportation credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 29 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University-WorldwidePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Daytona Beach, FL · Bachelor's, Master's, Associate, Graduate certificate, Certificate · Fully online option reported
1,610 awards$90,495 median 4 years out
Liberty UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Lynchburg, VA · Bachelor's, Master's, Associate · Fully online option reported
592 awards$102,096 median 4 years out
Utah Valley UniversityPublic, 4-year · Orem, UT · Associate, Bachelor's, Certificate
414 awards$106,001 median 4 years out
University of North DakotaPublic, 4-year · Grand Forks, ND · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate · Fully online option reported
407 awards$104,472 median 4 years out
Purdue University-Main CampusPublic, 4-year · West Lafayette, IN · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate
274 awards$86,161 median 4 years out
Broward CollegePublic, 4-year · Fort Lauderdale, FL · Certificate, Associate, Bachelor's
231 awards$75,637 median 4 years out
Florida Institute of TechnologyPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Melbourne, FL · Bachelor's, Associate, Master's, Doctorate, Certificate
169 awards$83,243 median 4 years out
Auburn UniversityPublic, 4-year · Auburn, AL · Bachelor's, Certificate
161 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Lewis UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Romeoville, IL · Bachelor's, Master's, Associate · Fully online option reported
151 awards$87,197 median 4 years out
Middle Georgia State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Macon, GA · Bachelor's, Certificate, Associate · Fully online option reported
137 awards$93,627 median 4 years out
Oklahoma State University-Main CampusPublic, 4-year · Stillwater, OK · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
128 awards$75,469 median 4 years out
Kansas State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Manhattan, KS · Bachelor's, Associate, Graduate certificate, Master's, Certificate · Fully online option reported
119 awards$85,147 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 252 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

76 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 49.01. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Transportation, Storage, and Distribution ManagersManagement$107,230221,180
Airline Pilots, Copilots, and Flight EngineersTransportation and material moving$232,140103,560
Commercial PilotsTransportation and material moving$123,22047,630
Air Traffic ControllersTransportation and material moving$148,08022,510
Airfield Operations SpecialistsTransportation and material moving$56,85015,190
Flight AttendantsTransportation and material moving$63,580131,650
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.